Saturday, 26th October 2014 will be an official day off from the rugby arena hand offs, ruck, maul and tackles to the ‘try line’ at Imperial Royale Hotel (Pool View).

This will be the day when the annual Nile Special / Uganda Rugby Union Rugby awards of the seasons 2013/14 and 2014 will be held.

Most Valuable Players (MVP):

Players, Oscar Kalyango, Romano Ogwal and Emma Ecodu are in the running for the Most Valuable Nile Special male rugby player of the year, 2013/2014 whilst Justin Kimono, Michael Wokorach and Marvin Odongo have been nominated for the season 2013 season.

rugby action2

The Rugby Awards will offer the players a breather off the Rucks and Mauls.

Brenda Kayiyi, Clare Anena and Aisha Nakityo make the short list for the female MVP 2013 season.

For the season running 2013/14, Brenda Kayiyi  returns in contention alongside, Fiona Nalubwama and Rachael Kakaire  for the top female accolade.

“We have combined the two seasons’ awards owing to the fact that we started the 2013/14 season at the close of the year” URU president Andrew Owori confirmed to Kawowo Sports.

Best Upcoming:

Joseph Aredo, James Ijongat and Kevin Keremundu makes the 2013 best upcoming crop while Ramathan Govule and Brian Asaba will compete for the 2013/14 event in the men category.

In the women Category; Faith Namuga, Yvonne Najjuma and Immaculate Namuli will contend for the 2013 season best upcoming player’s award.

The 2013/14 best women upcoming player award, the contest will be vied among Juliet Nandawula, Samiya Ayikoru and Emily Lekuru.

Brenda Kayiyi

Brenda Kayiyi (with the ball) is in contention for the Woman Most Valuable Players’  (MVP) Gong.

There awards set for the best performing coaches, manager and referees as well as the print and electronic media personalities who have done an enviable task to market, publicize as well as report and analyze the respective match outcomes.

Media Awards:

For the spirited high level of professionalism and committed service to all the Uganda Rugby Union events, several journalists from the print and electronic world have been considered for recognition and special awards as tokens of appreciation.

New Vision’s Johnson Were is double short listed for the best print reporter for the 2013 and 2013/14 seasons. Herbert Wafula makes the 2013 shortlist alongside with Were while Daily Monitor’s Deus Bugembe is in contention for the 2013/14 season.

Like Were, Nation Media’s Robert Madoi (NTV) and Marvin Katundwachi  (Sanyu F.M) make the short list for both the 2013 and 2013/14 seasons.

For the season ending 2013, Madoi and Katundwachi will vie alongside Patrick Kanyomozi  (Nation Media) before the duo return in contention alongside Akaboozi and NTV’s Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think