Gary Chaynes and Romain Comas from Ivory Coast are the new 2014 FIA African Rally Champions after finishing top of the ARC log.

The duo finished 11th in the final round of ARC which is Madagascar Rally but earned 18 points as they were the only registered ARC drivers besides Zambia’s Mohammed Essa and Zimbabwe’s Gareth Dawe.

Patrick Solofonirina and Berthin Randriamihaingo driving a Mitsubishi Evo X won the event with Essa second but his 25 points could only earn him second place overall with 188 points just one behind eventual winner Gary.

He becomes the first Ivorian to win the title.

ARC Final Standings:
Gary Chaynes (Cote d’Voire): 199 points
Essa Mohammed (Zambia): 188 points

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think