Nile Special / USPA Month of October Sports Personality:

Winner: Roger Mukasa (Cricket)

Uganda Cricket Cranes’ sensational player, Roger Mukasa received his Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) winners plaque and Ushs 500,000 on Thursday night.

Mukasa, who had been voted as the best sports personality for the month of October 2014 got his award at Imperial Royale Hotel in Kampala during the monthly dinner.

I feel honored for this special recognition. I dedicate this award to the entire cricket team.

Mukasa was part of the Uganda team that qualified for the World International Cricket Council (ICC) Division 2 league, slated for next year in Namibia.

The all round cricketer registered 13 wickets to his name, coming off just 6 innings in the ICC Division 3 tourney held in Singapore. He also scooped the man of the series accolade. During the vote held last week, Mukasa tallied 555 votes, beating badminton ace, Edwin Ekiring (505), the Omar Mayanja and Leone Ssenyange rally crew (455) and URA FC footballer, Robert Ssentongo (285).

Roger Mukasa was joined by fellow Cricket Cranes teammates and friends at the dinner. The sports body commended the entire cricket team for qualifying to ICC division 2, lady golfer, Flavia Namakula (won 2014 Uganda Ladies Golf Open).

Other Commendations:

USPA also commended Badminton star, Shamimu Bangi (won in Nigeria), the pool She Cranes team (finished second at Africa Pool championships in Tanzania) and Ndejje wood ball player, Joel Adupa for winning bronze at the world University woodball championships in Malaysia.

Leone Ssenyange (left) and USPA outgoing Vice President, Sabiti Muwanga (right) enjoyed a photo moment with Roger Mukasa.

The two will stand against each other for presidency come November 22nd 2014. This was the last dinner for the Mark Namanya led USPA executive as the body’s elective assembly will be held on 22nd November 2014 at Christ the King Hotel Hall in Kampala. Month of October USPA Award: Winner: Roger Mukasa (555 Votes) 1st Runners Up: Edwin Ekiring (505 Votes) 2nd Runners Up: Omar Mayanja/ Leone Ssenyange Rally Crew (455 Votes) 3rd Runners Up: Robert Ssentongo (285 Votes)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think