The Uganda Sports Arena in Busiika hosted the 7th round of the National Motocross Championship.

Hundreds turned up to witness guest riders Aerial Dabia and German Champion Jurgen Kuppers put on a show on Sunday .

Kuppers who dominated all heats in the MX 1 category was pleased with the progress of the Ugandan riders ahead of the East and Central African motocross championship, saying,
They have put in lots of hard work and will be ready to compete against the Kenyans. Technically, they have really grown in all classes and more practice can only make them even better.
Maxime Van Pee stretched his lead in the MX1 category putting him in poll position to win his maiden title.
I am happy with my performance and it will be great to finally win the title, I had a good start in the last heat but Kuppers was really fast too. The crowd was lovely, they always cheer and support us.
Elsewhere, USPA 2013 rider Fortune Sentamu was a class apart in the 65CC category while Ali Omar stood out in the 85CC beating brothers Paddy (Jr) and Alestair Blick.

Imran Nkurunzinza got the better of Isabella Blick in the 50CC but Esther Mwangala remains ahead on overall points with one more round to go.Fatuh Kiggundu also looks destined to be crowned MX2 champion despite only managing second place.

The event also coincided with a memorial in honour of Paddy Blick Snr who died 10 years ago which saw the existing Blick clan do a lap of honour on the race track including Maggie Kigozi getting on the bike to participate in the festivities.

There was a race to crown off the memorial which saw 2014 national champion Ronald Ssebuguzi and Christakis Fitidis entertain the crowds. John Burrows was not so lucky and ended up rolling his Subaru while Wycliff Bukenya was let down by mechanical problems.

Maximee Van Pee 60
Asaf Nathan 49
Arthur Blick 47
Ashraf Papa 37

Tamale Ahmed 57
Fatuh Kiggundu 52
Opoi 39
Moses Lutwama 37

Ali Omar Yasser 60
Paddy Blick (Jr) 47
Stav Orland 43
Alestair Blick 37

Fortune Ssentamu 60
Ben Nsumba 49
Vince Schrier 43

Imran Nkurunziza 53
Isabella Blick 51
A.Mbabazi 39

Aisha Nassanga

Contributor at Kawowo Sports

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think