2015 All Girls Volleyball Tournament

7th- 8th March 2015 Iganga Girls School

All eyes will be focused on the 2014 Joan Cox champions, Trust high school as the 2015 All Girls Volleyball tournament takes center stage this weekend at Iganga Girls School.

The two-day tournament is to feature over 40 girls secondary and 10 primary Schools nationwide and is likely to raise the year’s greatest competition.

Stiff competition is expected with the revamping of traditional schools such as Nabisunsa, Trinity College Nabbingo, Gayaza High School and St Joseph’s girls Nsambya, surprise on board is Ndejje Secondary School who have groomed players such as Okiror Lillian (KAVC), Nsubuga Hannington (VVC coach) and Peter Lakony (National team Coach women).

The games teacher of Ndejje Secondary School, Moses Serwanga said they are not instant leaders but grooming the team from senior ones who will later graduate to the senior school team.

Warning against Mercenaries: UVF Schools commission, Chief Edgar Karungi has again sternly warned that schools fielding mercenaries and over aged players shall be disqualified from the tournament with likelihood of further punishment.

Also, the requirement to field only two foreign players and under 21 years of age will be enforced. The foreign player’s limitation was introduced a few years ago to ensure more exposure opportunities for Ugandan youth.

The playing categories have been revised to suit the FIVB standards, the all-girls event will feature the under 16 category preferably senior ones & senior twos, under 14 mainly from primary schools, and the senior category this is to ensure that schools that normally field only one team have a chance to field players who are just beginning to learn the basics of volleyball.

Joan Cox Memorial Most valuable player Tracy Kulume from Trust High School will have to work up her attack trade to evade likely targeted resistance from taller Western girls of Mary hill girls, Bweranyangi girls and St Bridget girls Isingiro.

Trust High School is looking to a third all-girls trophy in a row after winning it in Mary hill 2013, and last year at St Joseph’s girls Nsambya.

Tracy Kulume is playing her last edition though. Mary hill high school Mbarara are the defending champions of the under 16 category which is becoming more competitive after Kinawa Mugongo won this category in Joan cox Gayaza.

The two day tournament is under the theme “Sports as an Academic Booster and Opportunities”.

The school headmistress Mrs Bailina Nseko Idah Annet has advised parents and schools to support sports in order to provide opportunities for children and young people to enjoy sport, make new friends, learn new skills, acquire habits of self-discipline, learn to cooperate, compete fairly and thus occupy their free-time as well as build good leaders for tomorrow.

Expected top teams: Lubiri Secondary School, Gayaza high School, Bweranyangi, Maryhill Mbarara, Nabisunsa Girls, Trinity College Nabbingo, Mount St Mary’s Namagunga, Katikamu SDA, Kawempe Muslims, St Brighet girls Insingiro, Ndejje SS, Kinawa High School Mugogo, Maria gorreti Katendi Dabani girls among others.

Past Winners:


  • 2014 Trust High School
  • 2013 Trust High School
  • 2012 Maryhill High School
  • 2011 Trust High School
  • 2010Trust High School
  • 2009 Katikamu SDA

Under 16

  • 2014 Mayhill High School

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think