UGANDA CUP 2014/15 FINALS: KCC Vs Sports Club Villa – Kyamate Sports Ground, Ntungamo

Saturday, 6th June 2015 (3:30 p.m)

Final touches at the the Kyamate sports ground in Ntungamo have been finalized.

The chairman of the local organizing committee, Frank Nkunzire has expressed appreciation to the personnel involved in the physical tasks for their tireless efforts over the past month.

“The internal perimeter fencing, goal posts and the playing turf are all in a great shape,” Nkunzire assured Kawowo Sports on Monday.

The FUFA Competitions director, Ali Mwebe confirmed last month that the 2014/15 Uganda Cup final would be held on Saturday, 6th May 2015 at the Kyamate play ground in Ntungamo district.

Action of the Uganda cup enters round six with the highly anticipated final between KCC and SC Villa. This follows the successful completion of all the other rounds earlier held right from the preliminaries.

Eight time winners, Sports Club Villa and Kampala City Council are the two teams ready for the finals.

SC Villa Path: SC Villa kick started the campaign when they eliminated Kampala regional side, Azam F.C 4-1 in FIFA Post match penalties after a 0-0 draw at Nakivubo stadium in the round of 64.

Busia Fisheries skipped the trip to Nakivubo stadium at the round of 32 before getting the better of Proline in the last 16 teams battle with a 4-1 result.

Isaac Muleme scored a late goal in extra time to help SC Villa eliminate the 2013 winners, Sports Club Victoria University in the quarter finals before eliminating BUL in the semi finals 2-0 on aggregate.

Denis Kamanzi scored at Kakindu before Augustine Nsumba netted at Nakivubo in the return leg.

The winner of the Uganda Cup gets U.shs 7M cash prize with a privilege to represent the country at the CAF Confederations Cup.

KCC Path: KCC overcame Corporate XI 4-0 at the round of 64. Ejected at the Ndejje University away 3-0 in Luwerro at the 32 stage. At the last 16 stage, KCC perfectly avenged to URA with a 2-1 result at the Mehta Stadium.

High flying Kyambogo F.C were stopped by KCC F.C at the quarter stage 4-1 in penalties after a 1-1 draw in normal time. At the semi finals, KCC defeated Lweza F.C 2-0 on aggregate over the two legs.

Herman Wasswa of KCC has a chance to grab the golden boot should he score two goals in the final. He lies one behind the two joint top scorers, Fahad Muhammed Hassan Tokko of SCVU and Fred Kyambadde of The Saints F.C.

Top Scorers:

Fahad Muhammed Hassan Tokko – 6 Goals (SC Victoria University)

Fred Kyambadde – 6 Goals (The Saints F.C)

Herman Wasswa – 5 Goals (KCC F.C)

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976- Gangama F.C

1977- Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 – Kampala City Council OR SC Villa ??

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think