• 7th August 2015 – Technical Meeting (Lugogo)
  • 8th – 9th August 2015 – Competition Days
  • Tournament Venues: MUBS, Lugogo & Namboole Courts

The 19th edition of the NSSF –KAVC Volleyball international Championship has been officially launched on Tuesday morning with a boost of Ug.x 70M.

The well attended by several media personalities took place at the boardroom of the NSSF main headquarters found at the Workers’ house in Kampala.

The NSSF managing director, Richard Byarugaba once again re-committed the company’s readiness to support sports development in the country with particular emphasis on volleyball.

Such international competitions enhance the competitiveness of our teams through exposure. We are pleased to partner with KAVC for the 9th year running to bring an exciting tournament to Kampala. This international competition gives us an opportunity to contribute to the development of volleyball and nurture young talent

KAVC Vice president Diana Agaba Tukundane has been grateful of the NSSF’s offer to the club and the country in general.

she hinted;

This tournament has provided the premier clubs in Uganda a platform to showcase their abilities on the international scene because they will compete with the top regional teams. Nowadays, we can hold our own when we go to international tournaments

This year, seven international teams from Rwanda, Kenya, Tanzania, South Sudan and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) have already confirmed participation.

South Sudanese club, Cobra and Espoir of the Democratic Republic of Congo were the first foreign teams to confirm participation.

cobra volleyball

Cobra Team during the Dr. Aporu Memorial Tournament (Photo Credits: Spikes International)

The other foreign teams that were invited include Ruzinko and Muzinga from Burundi, Pharm Warriors from South Sudan, Jesh Stars and Prisons from Tanzania.

As expected, Kenya and Rwanda are expected to send the biggest number of representatives if the list of invited teams from the organizers is anything to go by.

Kenya Administration Police, Prisons, GSU, KCB and Pipelines were invited from Kenya, while Rwanda Revenue Authority, Rayon Sport, APR, Inatek, Kigali Volleyball Club were invited from Rwanda.

On the local scene the hosts have registered two teams in each gender; the men will be joined by the 2014 winner Sky, Sport-S, KCCA, Cobap, and Old Kampala.

VVC, KCCA, Sport-S, Ndejje Elites, Nkumba, and Espoir are expected to grace the championships on the women’s sides.

This year’s tournament total sponsorship package has been heaped to a tune of seventy million from which Ug.X 45M will be channeled directly to the KAVC accounts for the running of the tournament and the rest of the money for publicity through the media.

Part  of the this money will go to prize cash given to the excelling teams.

US $1,000 (about Shs 3.5m) will be the total amount for the winners in the men and women categories.

This is an increment from US$500 (Shs 1.75m) winners have been taking in the past and that will be the cash prize for the runner-ups, an increment from US$300 (Ug Shs 1.05m).

And for the first time there will be a third place playoff where the winner of the tie will take home US$300.

This is the ninth year that the company is supporting this international tournament that attracts teams from the country and the region.

Total Sponsorship Package: U.shs 70M (45M directly to KAVC, 25M to media)

Cash Prizes: $ 1000 (Gold), $500 (Silver) & $ 300 (Bronze)

Defending Champions: Sky (Men) & Rwanda Revenue Authority (Women)

Tournament Sponsors:  NSSF (Event Main sponsor), CASE Medical Center, Pepsi Cola, Uganda Red Cross, TASO (Other Partners)

Some of The Past Winners:

2014 – Sky (Men) & RRA (Women)

2013 – Inatek (Men) & Nkumba (Women)

2012 – Sport –S (Men) & KCCA (Women)

2011 – KAVC (Men) & KCC (Women)

2010 – Muzinga (Men) & KCC (Women)

2009 – Sport – S (Men) & KCC (Women)

2008 – KVC (Men) &KAVC (Women)

2007 –Sport –S (Men) & KCC (Women)

2006 – Sport – S (Men) & KCC (Women)

2005 –APR (Men)& KAVC (Women)

2004 –KVC (Men) & NCC (Women)

2003 – B/Tiger (Men) & KAVC (Women)

2002 –Nzoia (Men) & KAVC (Women)

Most successful teams

Men: KAVC – Six titles, Sport-S – four titles

Women: KAVC – Eight titles, KCCA – Six titles

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think