CAF club draws: 11th December 2015

Dakar, Senegal

Draws for the preliminary rounds of 2016 Confederation of African Football (CAF) Champions League and Confederations Cup will be conducted on Friday, 11th December 2015 in Dakar Senegal.

Uganda will be represented by Vipers Sports Club and Sports Club Villa in the CAF Champions League and Confederation Cup respectively.

55 teams each from the 56 member associations of CAF will take part in the two competitions – 12 highest ranked FAs are eligible to enter two teams in the competitions.

This will be the 52nd Edition of the Champions League and the 20th Edition under the current format.

In Tanzania, Yanga will carry the Tanzanian flag in the Champions League as 15 times Kenyan Premier League champions Gor Mahia will represent Kenya.

Ethiopia, Burundi, Rwanda and South Sudan will be represented by St. George, Vital’O, APR and Leo Adraa’s Altabara respectively.

Sudan sends two teams to the competition – El Merreikh and Al Hilal.

The Champions League winner will qualify for the 2016 FIFA Club World Cup, and earn a right to play in the 2017 CAF Super Cup against the winner of the Confederations Cup.

TP Mazembe of Congo DR are the reigning Champions League winners while Etoile Du Sahel of Algeria are the CAF Confederations Cup holders.

The Champions League Teams:

1 – Algeria: E. S. Setifienne

2 Algeria: Mouloudia Olympique Bejaia

3-Angola: Clube Recreativo Desportivo do Libolo

4 Botswana: Mochudi Center Chiefs

5-Burkina Faso: Racing Club de Bobo

6 Burundi : VITAL’O F.C.

7-Cameroon: Coton Sport

8 Cameroon: US Douala

9-Chad: Chad

10 Comoros: Volcan Club de Moroni

11-Congo: AC Léopards

12 Congo: Etoile du Congo

13-Côte D’Ivoire: Asec Mimosas

14 Côte D’Ivoire: Côte D’Ivoire

15-Egypt: Al Ahly Sporting Club

16 Egypt: Zamalek

17-Ethiopia: St. George

18 Gabon: Mangasport

19-Gambia: Gamtel FC

20 Ghana: Ashanti gold

21-Guinea: Horoya A.C

22 Guinea Equatorial: RACING DE MICOMISENG

23-Kenya: Gor Mahia

24-Lesotho: Lioli Football Club

25-Liberia: Nimba United Football Club

26 Libya: Ahly Tripoli


28 Mali: Stade Malien

29 Mali: Onze Créateurs

30 Mauritius: Cercle de Joachim

31-Morocco: Wydad Athletic Club

32 Maroc: Olympique Club De Khouribga


34 Niger: AS Douanes

35-Nigeria: Enyimba FC

36 Nigeria: Warri Wolves FC

37-RD Congo: AS V.Club

38 RD Congo: TP Mazembe

39-Rwanda: APR FC

40-São Tomé: Club de Sporting de Praia

41-Senegal : AS Douanes

42 Seychelles: Seychelles

43 South Africa: Mamelodi Sundowns

44 South Africa: Kaizer Chiefs

45 South Sudan: South Sudan

46 Sudan: Al Merrikh

47 Sudan: Al Hilal

48 Swaziland: Mbabane Swallows

49 Tanzania: Young Africans

50 Tunisia: Club Africain

51 Tunisie: E.S.S.

52 Uganda: Vipers Sports Club

53-Zambia: Zesco United

54 Zanzibar: Mafunzo F.C

55-Zimbabwe: Chicken Inn FC

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think