Telkom Cup Finals 2015:

  • Kaizer Chiefs 1-3 Mamelodi Sundowns

An awesome man of the match performance from Uganda Cranes goalkeeper, Dennis Onyango propelled Mamelodi Sundowns to an emphatic 3-1 victory over Kaizer Chiefs in the Telkom Cup final at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on Wednesday.

The gangly shot stopper saved two penalties on the night as Leonardo Castro, Thabo Nthethe and Hlompho Kekana scored the goals for the Brazilians on a colorful evening at office in the exhilarating Telkom Knockout final.

In the highly anticipated clash between the two South African giants, the game started with a high tempo, with Amakhosi aiming to capitalize early as they attacked the Brazilians.

Early Goal:

Come the 5th minute against the natural run of play, Pitso Mosimane’s men took the lead with their first attack.

Tebogo Langerman picked out Khama Billiat on the far right and the Zimbabwean didn’t delay his pass to set up Castro, who easily headed home, beating goalkeeper Brillliant Khuzwayo for the opener.


It was 1-0 at the interval with Sundowns enjoying the lead, and the Tshwane giants pushed forward with Keagan Dolly and Themba Zwane combining beautifully, but the latter saw his shot saved by Khuzwayo.

Team skipper Nthethe made it 2-0 following Teko Modise’s corner kick in the 51st minute.

Onyango’s Double Penalty Save:

Kaizer Chiefs were awarded a 63rd minute penalty after substitute Bernard Parker was fouled by Nthethe, but Denis Onyango denied Tshabalala from the spot kick.

In the 74th minute of the epic finale, Onyango produced another brilliant penalty save when he denied Camaldine Abraw from the spot after Nthethe was adjudged to have handled the ball.

In the 81st minute, Sundowns made it 3-0 through Kekana thanks to a beautiful interchange with midfield general Modise.

In injury time, Abraw pulled one back for Amakhosi when he headed home Tshabalala’s cross but it was only good enough for a consolation.

This was Mamelodi’s first League Cup trophy since 1999, while the Amakhosi suffered a second successive Cup final defeat this season, having already been beaten by Ajax Cape Town in the MTN8 last year.

The Brazilians smiled and celebrated wildly upon the final whistle as Onyango was named man of the match for obvious reasons.

Team Line Ups:

Sundowns: Denis Onyango (G.K), Mbekile, Thabo Nthethe, Arendse, Tebogo Langerman, Khama Billiat, Zungu, Hlompho Kekana, Zwane (Ngele 90+2’), Dolly (Anthony Laffor 87’), Castro (Modise 46’)

Kaizer Chiefs: Brilliant Khuzwayo (G.K), Gaxa, Gordinho, Gould, Masilela, Katsande, Baloyi (Benard Parker 53’), Tshabalala, Ekstein (Letsholonyane 53’), Lebese, Manqele (Abraw 57’)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think