The National Rally Championship series hit its fifth round in the Bunyoro districts of Hoima and Masindi over the weekend.

The rally ended in Masindi with Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya seemingly celebrating victory.

However, the rally is still on after a series of controversies awaiting final decisions from the organisers.

Kawowo Sports’ Ismael Kiyonga looks back at the rally that was.

The first edition of Kabalega Rally started on a high with lines drawn among the competitors. The fight for championship points was equally hot.

Ronald Sebuguzi topped day one six seconds ahead of Jas Mangat and 2015 NRC champion Arthur Blick Jr was in third.

Everything was moving smoothly on day two as the rally moved towards Masindi.

Sebuguzi was leading by 47 seconds going into the second day’s loop but would lose that lead after incurring a 3 minutes 40 second penalty for delivering a time card late at a control.

The start of the day’s super special stage was protested by crews despite the clerk of course declaring it safe for use.

All competitors apart from the crews of Sebuguzi, Godfrey Lubega and Rogers Kiggundu refused to go for the sixth stage at Masindi Municipal stadium citing unsafe conditions at the stadium.

Reports had earlier come through that fans had become unruly at the stadium over payment issues, but eventually the matter was brought to normal.

The three crews proceeded with the Special stage as other crews still demanded the organisers to change the itinerary with stage six canceled.

Eventually, a series of agreements took course between the FMU President, Masindi police and competitors then the crews agreed to resume with the rally.

At that time, the other three crews were already cruising through the 43km Olinga stage.

Another technical issue arouse

As the rest of the crews resumed the rally, the Clerk of the course(COC) of the event together with Chairman stewards confessed to only consider the three teams that followed the right itinerary at the right time.

And that was the last shot that caused the well organised Kabalega Rally pending official results up to now.

The crew of Godfrey Lubega/Justin Mungoma protested the results from the audit requesting stewards to fairly check them considering all the crews fate.

Currently the rally is not over yet as the prize giving was postponed till final decision from the organisers and final results presented.

So this means Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya are provisionally the winners until the decision from the organisers is made.

As Kawowo Sports keeps the ears open on any proceedings from the organisers, we cite ‘decision making’ as the only cause for the weekend’s fracas.

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think