Vipers 2-0 KCCA (Half time)

Vipers Sports Club carries a 2-0 lead against city rivals Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) going into the mandatory half time break.

It took 16 minutes for Vipers to break the deadlock through Tonny Odur on a slightly wet Nakivubo stadium turf following the earlier rains in Kampala.

The former KCCA marksman finished off a text book move orchestrated by Kezironi Kizito before left winger laid a tempting ball for Odur past Benjamin Ochan in the KCCA goal posts.

Six minutes later, KCCA were on the receiving end failing to clear an initial corner as midfielder Deus Bukenya pouched with a stunning block buster shot for goal number two.

This was after Hassan Wasswa Mawanda watched on in disbelief when his lob over Ochana went over the bar.

Yellow card to Habibu Kavuma for blocking an on-colour Nicholas Wadada.

Aggrey Madoi became the first player to be booked by FIFA referee Brian Miiro Nsubuga for elbowing Paul Mucureezi before KCCA’s Habibu Kavuma blocked Wadada for a booking on his own.

Madoi prompted Ochan into a save from a free-kick from the resultant free-kick as the shot stopper parried the ball for a fruit-less corner.

The second half will definitely present a different wave length of strategy for either clubs.

Abdallah Mubiru will surely go defensive for team Vipers as Mike Mutebi who still has veteran striker Geofrey Sserunkuma on the sidelines will opt for the offensive mechanism for obvious reasons.

Team Line ups:

Vipers SC XI:

James Alitho (G.K), Nicholas Wadada (Captain), Aggrey Madoi,  Shafik Bakaki, Halid Lwaliwa, Deus Bukenya, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Kezironi Kizito, Tonnu Odur, Erisa Ssekisambu, Brian Kakaire


Ismail Watenga (G.K), Ashiraf Mandela, Dan Bilikwalira, Duncan Seninde, William Wadri, Musa Esenu, Joseph Ssemujju

Head coach: Abdullah Mubiru


Benjamin Ochan (G.K), Denis Okot Oola, Joseph Ochaya, Timothy Denis Awany, Habibu Kavuma, Ivan Ntege, Isaac Kirabira, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Paul Mucureezi, Brian Majwega, Robert Sentongo


Douglas Kisembo (G.K), Kaana Bukenya, Denis Rukundo, Derrick Nsibambi, Paul Musamali, Vicent Kayizzi Walugembe, Geofrey Sserunkuma

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply