Vipers 2-1 KCCA

Two first half goals from Tony Odur and Deus Bukenya were enough for brilliant Vipers to condemn KCCA to a 2-1 loss in the league match played at Nakivubo.

Geoffrey Sserunkuma late goal salvaged some pride for the visitors who were outclassed on an evening they were deservedly beaten.

The hosts started well and nearly got in front of goal with Brian Kakaire creating the first chance of the game inside three minutes.

But it wasn’t long before the broke the deadlock was broken by Odur. The former KCCA striker got at the end of a good cutback pass from Kakaire and from inside just six yards, tapped home past Benjamin Ochan.

Five minutes later, Deus Bukenya made it 2-0 for Abdallah Mubiru’s side with a wonder strike from over 20 yards.

The midfielder got at the end of a clearance off a corner and hit a first time volley that left Ochan stunned to send the home crowd into jubilation.

The score line should have been 3-0 a minute two minutes later as hosts another chance with a good build up play from the middle but Hassan Wasswa Mawanda’s attempt flew over the bar.

With the match one way traffic, Mike Mute bi made his first change of the game with Paul Musamali replacing but it still remained a one sided game.

At the start of the second half, Mutebi made another change with striker Geoffrey Sserunkuma replacing defending Isaac Kirabira as KCCA’s search for a goal continued.

At this moment, the hosts resorted to counter attacks and continued to wreak havoc but were lethargic in front of goal.

 A forced change saw Mubiru take off injured Bukenya for former KCCA attacker William Wadri and later Duncan Sseninde.

With the game destined for the final whistle, Sserunkuma hit the back of the net with a consolation.

Maximum points imply the two-time champions cut the gap to only three points with 15 as KCCA remains in the lead with 18 points. 

Vipers XI:

James Alitho (GK), Nicholas Wadada ©, Aggrey Madoi, Halid Lwaliwa, Shafik Bakaki, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Deus Bukenya (William Wadri), Kezironi Kizito, Erisa Ssekisambu, Tonny Odur (Musa Esenu), Brian Kakaire (Duncan Sseninde).


Benjamin Ochan (GK), Denis Okot, Joseph Ochaya ©, Habib Kavuma, Timothy Awany, Ivan Ntege, Isaac Kirabira (Geoffrey Sserunkuma), Muzamiru Mutyaba, Robert Ssentongo (Derrick Nsibambi) and Brian Majwega (Paul Musamali) 

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply