Eritrean Eyob Metkel, riding for Team Dimension Data, Qhubeka, won Stage 5 of the 2016 Tour du Rwanda  to pile pressure on teammate and yellow jersey holder, Valens Ndayisenga.

Stage five was characterized by cold winds and heavy rains in Nyabihu, about 25 kilometres to the finish line, it didn’t stop the 23-year-old three-time Tour du Rwanda stage winner (2013, 2015 and 2016) from claiming his first victory of this year’s race.

Eyob used 3 hours, 15 minutes and 57 seconds, same time as Patrick Byukusenge (2nd) of Club Benediction, Kibrom Hailay Giday (3rd) of Ethiopia National Team and Team Rwanda’s Gasore Hategeka (4th).

[/media-credit] Eyob Metkel celebrates his victory after stage 5 Credit: New Times

He told the New Times;

It was a tough stage and I am happy to win, but our first target as a team is to keep the yellow jersey with Ndayisenga

He ascended to second place in the general classification having reduced the gap on the race leader by 42 seconds, with two stages remaining.

21 year old Areruya of Les Amis Sportifs de Rwamagana came third with 16 hours, 12 minutes and 35 seconds followed by Tesfom Okubamariam, riding for Eriteria national team with 16h12’42” while defending champion Nsengimana is in the fifth place with 16h12’45”

Stage 5: Top Ten
1. Eyob Metkel- Dimension Data 03h15’57’’
2. Patrick Byukusenge- Club Benediction 03h15’57’’
3. Kibrom Hailay Giday- Ethiopia National Team 03h15’57’’
4. Gasore Hategeka- Team Rwanda 03h15’57’’
5. Bonaventure Uwizeyimana- Dimension Data 03h16’43’’
6. Tesfom Okubamariam- Eritrea National Team 03h16’43’’
7. Calvin Beneke- South Africa National Team 03h16’43’’
8. Omer Goldshtein- Cycling Academy Team 03h16’43”
9. Aman Werkilul Ghebreigzabhier- Dimension 03h16’43’’
10. Temesgen Mebrahtu Buru- Ethiopia National Team 03h16’43’’ ‘’

General Classification
1. Valens Ndayisenga -Dimension Data 16h11’19’’
2. Eyob Metkel – Dimension Data 16h12’01’’
3. Joseph Areruya – Les Amis Sportifs 16h12’35’’
4. Tesfom Okubamariam – Eritrea National Team 16h12’42’’
5. Jean Bosco Nsengimana – Stradalli-Bike Aid 16h12’45’’
6. Patrick Byukusenge – Club Benediction 16h13’59’’
7. Hailay Kibrom Giday- Ethiopia National Team 16h14’22”
8. Amanu Ghebreigzabhier Werkilul – Dimension Data 16h14’44’’
9. Suleiman Kangagi – Kenyan Riders DownUnder 16h14’45’’
10. Temesgen Mebrahtu Buru – Ethiopia National team 16h14’56’’

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think