[/media-credit] Cyclists during the 2016 Enduro championship at Nalumunye Housing Estate Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS | David Isabirye

The Uganda Cycling Association (UCA) is once again disjointed with the executive committee dissolved and no more.

The latest development happened at the Lugogo Tennis club in Kampala towards the start of this week during an extra ordinary assembly when the delegates decided to dissolve the executive committee of the association and passed a vote of no confidence in their leader, ‘Sam Mahaba’ Muwonge.

[/media-credit] Impeached Uganda Cycling Association (UCA) President, Sam ‘Mahaba’ Muwonge flags off a Coronation cycling event at Bulange Mengo in Kampala Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS | David Isabirye

An interim committee was thus put in place till the election time.

All the delegates unanimously agreed and effected the motion after ‘mismanagement’ of the association by the impeached president Muwonge.

Delegates pinned Muwonge over dictatorial leadership, gross misappropriation of funds, showing little respect to the association constitution and lack of respect to key stake holders including the clubs that are key pillars of any association.

The former general secretary Fred Maiso was appointed as an interim committee chairman of a five man committee that also has Hajji Buruhan Ssekibenga, a former association chairman.

Also, a committee headed by another former chairman of the association, Lawrence Byaruhanga was put in place to oversee the constitutional amendment process.

[/media-credit] A cycling delegate protests Sam Mahaba’s 20 year reign as Uganda Cycling Association President Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS | David Isabiry

The committee will spearhead the activity in consultation of other affiliated members for an agreed period of two months before the amended constitution is presented and approved by the delegates.

Fresh elections are expected by February 2017.

Interim Committee:

Chairman: Fred Maiso (Former general secretary), Haj.Buruhan Ssekibenga (ex_association chairman & currently chairman Buganda cycling association), Adam Amza  (Official Busoga cc), Mathius Lukwago (official Agromapei), Ssaka Bukenya (official Supersport )

Constitutional Amendment Committee:

Head: Lawrence Byaruhanga (ex_chairman of Uganda cycling association)

Others: Kalyango Fredrick(official Luwero cc), Mathius Lukwago(official Agromapei cc), Hussein Sadam (official Mbarara cc), Haj.Bruhan Ssekibenga(Ex_chairman Uganda cycling association), Fred Maiso (acting chairman UCA), Durucilla Muzila(official Busoga cc)  and a lawyer yet to be identified.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think