2016 National pool champion, Sula Matovu also won the Christmas Championship Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2016 Christmas Pool Championship winners:

Men: Sula Matovu

Women: Lukia Naiga

Sula Matovu wrapped up a remarkable year in the Pool fraternity by winning the 2016 Christmas Championship at Club Lumas.

Sula Matovu receives his AAPA gold medal from Pool Association of Uganda President Farouk Kisuze Wamala Credit: ©Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Matovu, also winner of the most prestigious Pool tournament in the country, the National Pool Open held his nerves to defeat Amos Ndyagumanawe 7-6 in a thrilling finale.

The CKI pool player won a cash reward of Ug.shs 2M having come top of over 120 players leaving behind casualties as Simon Lubulwa at the quarter final stage (5-2) and former Skin Samona clubmate Fahad Ssewankambo 6-2.

In the ladies’ category, Lukia Naiga outwitted Aisha Madondo 6-3 in the final to take the ladies crown.

This was the last event on the Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) calendar.

An excited Matovu hailed fellow players for the rare show of character throughout the season;

I am so happy for the victory but it would not have materialized without my fellow players. The competition was healthy.

PAU publicist, Michael Mawanda is delighted about the successful events and the leagues played throughout the year.

We had a great year where all the events on the calendar were honoured.

From the individual championship, leagues and the national teams at the All Africa Pool Championship, 2016 remains a year to forget.

Focus now turns to the year 2017 where the Association will once again release the activity work plan.

2016 Christmas Pool:


Finals: Lukia Naiga 6-3 Aisha Madondo


Aisha Madondo 5-4 Brenda Akiror

Lukia Naiga 5-1 Sharon Mirembe

Quarter finals:

Aisha Madondo 4-1 Carlo Kanzira

Maria Nanyonga 0-4 Brenda Akiror

Rehema Nanyondo 0-4 Lukia Naiga

Sharon Mirembe 4-1 Zaimat Nabafu


Final: Sula Matovu 7-6 Amos Ndyagumanawe


Sula Matovu 6-2 Fahad Ssewankambo

Amos Ndyagumanawe 6-3 Humphrey Nsubuga

Quarter finals:

Simon Lubulwa 2-5 Sula Matovu

Fahad Ssewankambo 5-3 Meddie Kalanzi

Hazard  Lukomwa 4-5 Humphrey Nsubuga

Amos Ndyagumanwe 5-2 Dan Mubiru

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think