[/media-credit] KCCA FC captain Denis Okot (L) and Vincent Kayizzi (R) join Geoffrey Sserunkuma in celebrating one of his goals. The Kasasiro have been drawn against an Angolan side in the CAF Champions League Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Uganda league champions KCCA FC have been drawn against Angola’s Clube Desportivo 1º de Agosto in the preliminary round of the CAF Champions League.

In a draw conducted on Wednesday December 21 at the CAF Headquarter in Cairo, the Ugandan representative will host the first leg in Kampala before travelling for a return leg a week later.

In case Mike Mutebi’s charges get past that stage, reigning African champions Mamelodi Sundowns, home to Ugandan goalie Denis Onyango is lurking in the final round with the winner making the group stages as the new format suggest four groups.

A closer look at CECAFA clubs

Elsewhere, El Merriekh of Sudan where Ugandan goalie Jamal Salim plies his trade take Sony Nguema of Equatorial Guinea, Burundi’s Vital’O takes on Mounana of Gabon, Zambia’s Zanaco faces Rwanda’s APR while Tanzania’s Yanga will play Ngaya de Mbe of Comoros.

Nsimbe’s Tusker faces AS Port Louis of Mauritius

George ‘Best’ Nsimbe will have AS Port Louis of Mauritius to contend with in the preliminary round with Sudan’s Hilal waiting the next round.

The first legs will be hosted on the weekend of February 11-13, 2017 with the return leg a week later between February 17-19, 2017.

The second round fixtures will then be played on the weekends of March 11-13, 2017 and 17-19, 2017.

The losers at the first round will drop to the CAF Confederations Cup where they take on teams in a two legged play off for a chance to make the group stages.

Prize Money 

There is $550, 000 (about Shs1.83b) for finishing fourth and third in the group of the CAF Champions League.

It’s $650,000 (about Shs2.16b) for all quarter finalists and $875,000 (about Shs2.9b) for the semifinalists from $700,000 (about Shs2.3b) while the runner-ups take home $1,250,000 (about Shs830b), 25% better than$1m they were getting initially

The overall cash prize for the 2017 champions has had a 66.67% increment from $1.5m (about 4.5b) to $2.5m (about Shs8.3b).


KCCA (Uganda) Vs Clube Desportivo 1º de Agosto (Angola)

El Merriekh (Sudan) Vs Sony Nguema (Equatorial Guinea)

Vital’O (Burundi) Vs Mounana (Gabon)

Zanaco (Zambia) Vs APR (Rwanda)

Yanga Africans (Tanzania) Vs Ngaya de Mbe (Comoros)

Tusker (Kenya) Vs AS Port Louis (Mauritius)

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think