Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) will later this year crown the country’s best sportsmen of the year, 2016 at a glamorous dinner and awards ceremony in Kampala.

At the same awards gala, the most outstanding sports personality of the year and team of the year will also be known.

The sports journalists under the umbrella body, USPA compiled the list of the different winners during their assembly held at Lugogo Tennis Courts on Monday, 9th January 2017.

Tennis, Cycling and Volleyball were scrapped off the list this year for being inactive.

Nominees for Sports Personality of the year:

Denis Onyango (Football)

David Emong (Paralympics)

Phillip Wokorach (Rugby)

The Uganda Cranes starting XI against Togo in the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE
Uganda Rugby Cranes
Uganda Rugby Cranes
City Oilers Baketball Club before they took on BEAC Basketball at the 2016 FIBA Champions Cup in Egypt FIBA

Nominees for Team of the year:

Uganda Cranes

Rugby Cranes

City Oilers Basketball Team

Simon ‘The Computer’ Lubulwa on the pool table during the Nile Special National Pool Championship at Lugogo. The championship has been nominated for sport event of year alongside the Uganda Golf Open.
otile and muhumuza ug golf open
Ronald Otile and Adolf Muhumuza during the 2016 Uganda Golf Open pressure group

Nominations for Sports Event of the year

National Open Pool Championship

Uganda Golf Open

The Different Sport Discipline Winners:


David Emong returned to a heroes welcome after he won Uganda’s first and only medal (silver) at the Paralympics games in Rio De janeiro Brazil Courtesy

Male: David Emong

Female: Juliet Chekwel

Boxing: Shadir Musa

Uganda Cranes’ Denis Onyango. He won the league in South Africa with Mamelodi Sundowns, CAF Champions league, played at the FIFA Club World Cup and was part of the historic Uganda Cranes team © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

Football: Denis Onyango

Hasifa Nassuna dribbles the ball during the 2016 CECAFA Women championship at Njeru. She was top scorer at that tournament as Uganda finished 4th. She won the FUFA Women Elite league with Kawempe Muslim S.S

Women Football: Hasfa Nassuna

2016 NRC champions Jas Mangat (R) and Joseph Kamya © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
Jas Mangat at the Mosac Rally in Jinja © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Motorsport(Rallying): The crew of Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya

Ronald Otile is the golfer of the year, 2016. He successfully defended the Uganda Open and was part of the team Uganda that defended the East African Golf Challenge trophy in Ethiopia
Lady Golfer Flavia Namakula dances with Musician Bebe Cool at Entebbe Club after the Mug of Mugs tournament in December 2016 © Kawowo Sports | KAWOWO SPORTS


Male: Ronald Otile

Female: Flavia Namakula


Male: Henry Ssenyondo

Female: Stephanie Nampiina

2016 National pool champion, Sula Matovu also won the Christmas Championship. He was also part of team Uganda that lifted the African title in Kampala. © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE


Male: Sula Matovu

Female: Vicky Namuyanja

Bobybuilding: Andrew Ssenoga


Male: Brian Kasirye

Female: Shamim Bangi

Table Tennis

Male: Gilton Chelibe

Female: Halima Nambozo

Lillian Zawedde tee-off with her mallet at a beach woodball circuit. Zawedde preformed well throughout the year both on grass and sand.


Male: Onesmus Atamba

Female: Lillian Zawedde

Weightlifting: Khalid Batuusa


Male: Phillip Wokorach

Female: Grace Auma

Motocross: Aviv Orland


Retired chess player Harold Wanyama Kawowo Sports | KAWOWO SPORTS

Male: Harold Wanyama

Female: Joyce Kabengano

Netball: Joan Nampungu


Male: Jacob Okidi

Female: Dinah Amoding

Kickboxing: Patricia Apolot


Male: Jimmy Enabu

Female: Judith Nansobya

Jimmy Enabu © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Ludo: Sarah Namubiru

Ulinzi’s Nicholas Ireri takes a shot as Police’s Felix Mukunzi attempts with a block Collins Omollo


Male: Felix Mukunzi

Female:Muhaimuna Namuwaya

Men’s 100m Butterfly
13th Fina World Swimming Championships Photo Credits | © Giorgio Scala/Deepbluemedia/Insidefoto


Male: Nicholas Malani

Female: Kirabo Namutebi

hockey 1


Male: Innocent Mbabali

Female: Doreen Asiimwe

Squash: Ian Rukunya

The legendary and best run federation awards are decided by the USPA top executive.

The date and venue for the awards gala will be communicated.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here