Cameroon coach Hugo Broos lifted high after winning AFCON 2017 Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Moments after winning the AFCON 2017 tournament in Gabon, Cameroon head coach, Henri Hugo Broos appreciated the great service of the young squad that he carried for the tournament.

[/media-credit] Cameroon coach Henri Hugo Broos lifted high after winning AFCON 2017 Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Addressing the media at Stade De L’Amitie after the game, the visibly excited coach was full of players for his players who many doubted from the start.

We were a complete family throughout the tournament. I will repeat, we had a group of 23 great friends who were all motivated and determined to succeed.

Even those on the bench were happy and encouraged the ones playing. That is the love and situation that made us win

[/media-credit] Cameroon players the match winner from Vincent Aboubakar Credit: @ Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Cameroon’s journey at AFCON 2017:

The Belgian tactician had a slow start to the tournament when Cameroon started with a one all draw with Burkina Faso.

They rallied from a goal down to beat Guinea Bissau 2-1 before frustrating the hosts Gabon in a goal-less draw as they marched to the knock out stages.

During the quarter final played with pre-tournament favorites, Senegal, they needed a tense 5-4 post match penalty victory following a goal-less draw in normal time and the added 30 minutes of extra time.

Playing at the same Franceville stadium like in the quarters, Cameroon easily overcame Ghana 2-0 in the semifinals.

[/media-credit] Gabon President Ali Bongo Ondimba, FIFA President Giavanni Infantino, CAF President Issa Hayatou presided over the medal and trophy presentation Credit: @ Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Broos called upon the media back in Cameroon for positive reporting.

I was criticized during the first one year of service. But here we are, champions of Africa.

Cameroon recovered from a goal down against Egypt to win the final 2-1 and lift their 5th title, returning to the winning podium after 2002.

They previously triumphed in 1984, 1988, 2000, 2002 and now 2017.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply