Water F.C in action Credit: Kawowo Sports

Uganda Cup (Round of 32):  Water Vs Boma Young (The visiting team failed to travel for the match at Kisubi Technical playground, Entebbe)

[/media-credit] Water F.C in action Credit: Kawowo Sports

Hoima based side Boma Young failed to honour their round of 32 Uganda Cup match that was scheduled to be played at the Kisubi Technical playground off the Kampala – Entebbe Highway. The match was slated for Thursday.

According to Khawa Kajabagu, the director cum coach of Boma Young, he failed to raise the travel funds.

When he informed FUFA at the 11th hour (calling for a postponement), the plea was turned down.

On Wednesday, I informed FUFA that I could not be able to transport the side but they (Competitions director) told me that it was late for a postponement since the rules call for a 48 hour announcement.

Water Football Club winger Credit:

Water Football Club, coached by Vialli Bainomugisha thus stands to advance for the round of 16 stage that already has the likes of  KCCA, Express, Buganda regional sides Kyetume and Kiboga Young, Fort Portal Boda Boda, Sadolin Paints, JMC Hippos, Police and Uganda Revenue Authority football club and last year’s losing finalists, Onduparaka F.C.

After the full round of 32 games, the draws for the round of 16 stage will be held at FUFA House in Kampala.

Vipers Sports Club is the defending champion of the Uganda Cup.

Other Round of 32 Games (Sunday, 26th February 2017):

Bright Stars Vs Baza Holdings – Champions stadium

Kataka Vs Synergy – Nabini ground, Mbale

Wednesday, 1st March: Igombe Vs Masavu – Iganga Ssaza Ground

Saturday, 4th March: Bright Light Vs Paidha Black Angels – Lira Town College

Sunday, 5th March: Soana Vs Vipers – Kavumba Recreational Stadium, Wakiso

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976- Gangama F.C

1977- Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 – Sports Club Villa

2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply