Flavia Oketcho during the 2015 AfroBasket game against Gabon Credit: FIBA
[/media-credit] Flavia Oketcho (4) during a 2015 AfroBasket game against Gabon Credit: FIBA

The final twelve Gazelles players that will represent the country at the Zone V national championships in Cairo, Egypt have been named.

On his team, head coach Nicholas Natuhereza named seven back court players and five front court players.

The cast is led by KCCA Leopards’ Flavia Oketcho, Moreen Amoding, Muhayimina Namuwaya and Martha Soigi.

UCU Lady Canons also have four players on the final team in Judith Nansobya, Ritah Imanishimwe, Zaina Lokwameri and Sarah Ageno.

JKL Lady Dolphins’ Angella Namirimu and Jamila Nansikombi are joined by Sylvia Nakazibwe (Phenom) and A1’s Stella Nanfuka to complete the team.


A1 Challenge shooting guard Dorothy Kyamazima, JKL’s forward Lynn Nalunkuma and Stacey Lubowa have been dropped.

The qualifiers tournament is slated for March 12-18, with only one spot available to qualify for the continental championship.

The Team List

1. Flavia Oketcho

2. Angella Namirimu

3. Sylvia Nakazibwe

4. Rita Imanishimwe

5. Moreen Amoding

6. Judith Nansobya

7. Zaina Lokwameri

8. Jamilah Nansikombi

9. Sarah Ageno

10. Stella Nanfuka

11. Muhayimina Namuwaya

12. Martha Soigi

Franklin Kaweru is the Editor in Chief of Kawowo Sports. He is an ardent basketball enthusiast.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think