Some of the 10KM participants in the 1st edition of the Katabi Fun run Credit: @ Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2017 Katabi Fun run:

Winners: Gonzaga Ssebuma (21km, Men), Jonathan Akankwasa (10km, Men), Deus Sebirori (5km, Men), Rachael Siloam Nakimbugwe (10km, Women) & Prossy Kisakye (5km, Women)

[/media-credit] Deus Sebirori celebrates after winning the 10KM catergory of the Katabi Fun run Credit: @ Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Hundreds graced the inaugural Katabi Fun Run held in Katabi Town council and Entebbe Municipality on Sunday morning.

Gonzaga Ssebuma crossed the finish line in 1:13:09 to win the longest race that covered 21km from Katabi headquarters, Abayita Ababiri through to Katabi village.

Ssebuma reached the finishng point ahead of Baron Kwesiga and Michael Sikoria who finished second and third respectively.

Jonathan Akankwasa won the men 10km race as Deus Sebirori emerged the best in the 5km event.

Rachel Siloam Nakimbugwe was the best lady in the 10km event ahead of Eidan Nuwagaba who was flagged off 10 minutes late after the official group had left.

Prossy Kisakye was the best lady runner in the 5km event.

The Mayors of Katabi Town Council, Ronald Kalema Basamula Ekere and Entebbe Municipality (Kayanja Vicent De Paul) graced the event.

[/media-credit] Mayor of Katabi Town Council, Ronald Kalema Basamula Ekere with a kick during the 5KM event Credit: @ Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE
[/media-credit] Entebbe Municipality mayor, Vicent De Paul Kayanja (left) finishes the 10KM event with Nsubuka at Katabi Headquarters on Sunday Credit: @ Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Proceeds from the event will be channeled to women groups in Katabi Sub-County.

Kayanja praised the different participants who graced the Katabi Fun run and called upon many others to take part in the up-coming Entebbe Marathon slated for Sunday, 19th March 2017.

I salute everyone who participated in the Katabi Fun Run. Our prime objectives of exercising as well as raising money for Katabi women groups have been realized.

It has been a perfect warm up race ahead of the Entebbe Marathon.

At least 100 participants took part in the early morning race with excelling participants being rewarded with different cash and material prizes.

William Kakooza receives a cash envelope from the Entebbe Municipality Mayor, Vincent Kayanja. Kakooza was second in the 5KM men event Credit: @ Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

The Top winners per catergory:

21KM Men

1 – Gonzaga Ssebuma – 1:13:09

2 – Baron Kwesiga – 1:14:15

3 – Michael Sikoria – 1:14: 55

10KM Men:

1 – Jonathan Akankwasa – 29:14:47

2 – Julius Kabagambe – 30:33:26

3 – Patrick Ntale – 32: 01: 49

5KM Men

1 – Deus Ssebirori

2 – William Kakooza

3 – Owen Mutumba

10KM Women

1 – Rachel Siloam Nakimbugwe

2 – Eidan Nuwagaba

5KM (Women):

1 – Prossy Kisakye

2 – Grace Christine Tukei

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply