Living Kabon Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Uganda Cup (Round of 16)

Sunday, 26th March 2017

  • Onduparaka Vs Water – Green Light Stadium, Arua
  • Kyetume Vs Police – Nakisunga playground, Mukono
  • Baza Holdings Vs Sadolin Paints – Kawempe Muslim S.S playground
[/media-credit] Onduparaka’s Ceasar Okhuti prepares to take a penalty against Proline at Lugogo. He missed the kick Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Arua based side Onduparaka Football Club is at home against FUFA Big League side Water F.C in the Uganda Cup Round of 16 at the intimidating Greenlight stadium.

Onduparaka seeks the second successive final in a bid to win their first Uganda Cup.

Against a boggy side as Water, they face a stern test of character on a ground they are unbeaten in more than three years.

Towering defender Rashid Toha who skipped the Uganda Cranes match against the France Military will man the backline.

Upfront, the team will be led by Ceasar Okhuti supplied by the Gadafi duo of Wahabu and Gadihno.

Fast paced winger Living ‘Messi’ Kabon will offer the much needed width.

Water on the other hand shall be led by former KCCA player Mubaraka Tenywa, younger brother to former Uganda Cranes defender Suliaman Tenywa.

Elsewhere, Police plays Buganda Region side Kyetume as Baza Holdings host Sadolin Paints at the Kawempe Muslim S.S playground.

The winners will progress to the quarter final to join Express, URA, Paidha Black Angels and Vipers Sports Club.

Vipers S.C is the cup holder, a tag that earned them the rights to represented Uganda at the CAF Confederation Cup.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976– Gangama F.C

1977– Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 – SC Villa

2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply