Franco Oringa with a routine aerial ball save during Sadolin Paints' away game to Lweza at Wankulukuku stadium

Uganda Cup (Round of 16): Sunday, 26th March 2017

  • Onduparaka Vs Water – Green Light Stadium, Arua
  • Kyetume Vs Police – Nakisunga playground, Mukono
  • Baza Holdings Vs Sadolin Paints – Kawempe Muslim S.S playground
[/media-credit] Entebbe F.C captain Sunday Mukiibi controls the ball with Samson “Abbey” Mutyaba of Baza Holdings keeping close watch at Bugonga stadium in Entebbe in the FUFA Big league Credit: @ Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

FUFA Big League side Baza Holdings (Stegota) will play host to top flight side Sadolin Paints in the Uganda Cup this Sunday at the Kawempe Muslim Secondary School playground.

This will be during one of the three Round of 16 games lined up for the day.

Baza Holdings is still nursing their 1-0 loss to Masavu suffered last Wednesday in Entebbe during the game they dominated but failed to kill off after missing a series of goal scoring opportunities.

But, in the Uganda Cup, they remain a different entity having eliminated Premier League side Bright Stars during the last outing.

In Umar Bulega, Jim Matovu, Samson ‘Abbey’ Mutyaba, defender William Kayongo and goalie Michael Majwega, Baza Holdings has the quality and experience ready to face any side on the land.

Against Sadolin Paints, they face a rigid and offensive side as well that has played in the top flight for the past three seasons.

Strikers Norman Ogiki and Fred Kyambadde are expected to lead the hunt for goals as the experienced legs and footballing brains Ronald Lukungu will be much needed on the day.

Sadolin Paints eliminated non league side KCCA Corporate at the Round of 64 stage.

They required a post match 4-3 penalty victory to eject FUFA Big outfit Ndejje University after normal time had ended goal-less in Luweero.

The winners will progress to the quarter final to join Express, URA, Paidha Black Angels and Vipers Sports Club.

Vipers S.C is the Cup holder, a tag that earned them the rights to represented Uganda at the CAF Confederation Cup.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976– Gangama F.C

1977– Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 – SC Villa

2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club

2016/17 – ???

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply