Action between Vipers and Paidha Black Angels at the St Mary's Stadium, Kitende on Sunday Credit: Vipers S.C Media

Uganda Cup: Quarter Final:

  • Vipers 0-1 Paidha Black Angels
  • Sadolin Paints 2-1 Onduparaka
[/media-credit] Action between Vipers and Paidha Black Angels at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Sunday Credit: Vipers S.C Media

FUFA Big league side Paidha Black Angels defeated Vipers Sports Club 1-0 in the quarter final of the Uganda Cup at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Sunday.

Fred Ameko scored in the 29th minute of the opening half past James Alitho for the lone strike on the day.

Ameko capitalized on a lapse in defense between midfielder Siraje Sentamu and defender Halid Lwaliwa before firing into the roof of the net for the first goal conceded by Vipers at Kitende.

Milton Karisa, Erisa Ssekisambu and Moses Waiswa all had attempts at goal foiled as the home side rallied to pull off an equalizer in vain.

This was the first loss for Vipers, the reigning champions of the tournament at their Kitende based stadium since opening after renovation.

The defeat is the second to Portuguese coach, Miguel Da Costa since taking over the club (the other was in the league 1-0 away to Kirinya-Jinja S.S).

In the other match of the day, Sadolin Paints overcame Arua club Onduparaka at the Nelson Mandela National stadium.

This year’s final will be played in the West Nile region at a venue yet to be confirmed.

The winner of the Uganda Cup represents the country at the CAF Confederation cup.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976- Gangama F.C

1977- Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 – SC Villa

2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think