2017 Uhuru Cup:  Dynamos  1 (3) – 1 (2) Highlanders

Dynamos won their 8th Uhuru cup after defeating the Highlanders 3-2 on penalties in a dramatic final at the National Sports Stadium in Zimbabwe on Tuesday.

Normal time of the match between the two sides christened as Dembare and the Bosso had ended one goal apiece.

Prince Dube missed a chance in the 19th minute after being set up by Mutuma.

Sadiki, Mandiranga were all close for Dynamos although they failed to find the break through as the two sides returned to the lockerrooms all square.

Second half substitute Masimba Mambare, who had just replaced Sadaiki scored with a clever flick to put Dynamos in the lead after 57 minutes.

The game seemed destined for a killer when Ralph Matema converted a penalty in the 95th minute when Zvasiya had handled in the forbidden area to force post match penalties.

Ralph Matema and Ocean Mushure missed their respective first two penalties.

Peace Makaha eventually converted final kick from the penalty spot to hand Dynamos the much desired victory.

Dembare thus won $15 000 as the Highlanders smiled home with $10 000 as the runners up.

In the 3rd and 4th place final FC Platinum edged CAPS United 1-0 at Barobourfields Stadium.

William Stima scored from a penalty to hand FC Platinum 3rd place.

Starting line ups:

Dynamos XI: Mateyaunga,Makaha,Muroiwa,Mushure,Zvasiya,Chipunza,Saunyama,Sadaiki (54′ Masimba Mambare),Epoupa,Kangadzi,Mandiranga

Highlanders XI: Ariel Sibanda, S.Munawa, B.Banda,T.Ndlovu,P.Muduhwa , Phakamani Dube,H.Moyo,T.Nguluble, A.Gahadzikwa,B.Phiri, R.Mutuma

[Additional stats by Soccer 24]

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think