A familiar name triumphed at the Mombasa International Open Chess Championships as International Master Elijah Emojong maintained Uganda’s dominance at the annual event.

The No.2 seed in East Africa won the event in the Prestige section with 6.5 points after he won all bar one game to become only the second player to defend the Open.

Like last year in October, Emojong drew against Fide Master Harold Wanyama in the fifth round, but the rated 2351 had done enough in the first rounds to once again emerge the top dog as weaker opponents were left for him to face in the last two rounds.

On his way to triumph, Emojong, who became East Africa’s first ever IM when he earned the title in 2014 at the Zonal Championships beat among others FM Haruna Nsubuga, and as a result of his triumph, he walks home with KShs 100,000 as prize money.

The former City Chess Club board one player was closely followed by Nsubuga who garnered 6 points. The 2013 champion lost to the eventual winner in the early stages of the competition but was able to outwit his other opponents including Wanyama.

Wanyama who came out of retirement two weeks ago, and whose sole reason to compete at the tourney was the top prize settled for a third place with 5.5 points, and KShs 25,000 as prize money.

Nsubuga, meanwhile pocketed KShs 50,000 for his third finish.

With this edition included, Ugandans have now won the tournament five successive times.

Recent winners.

2016                IM Elijah Emojong     [Uganda]

2015                IM Arthur Ssegwanyi [Uganda]

2014                Allan Mathias Ssonko [Uganda]

2013                FM Haruna Nsubuga [Uganda]

2012                Brian Kidula               [Kenya]

2011                Harold Wanyama        [Uganda]

2010                Harold Wanyama        [Uganda]

2009                Harold Wanyama        [Uganda]

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think