Darwin Mukidza Kenya
[/media-credit] Darwin Mukidza

When Kenya Simbas head coach Jerome Paarwater released a 36-man squad to prepare for the upcoming Tier 1A championship that gets underway in June, a number of prominent names were missing.

The team, set to play a high-profile test game against Germany, will battle it out with Namibia, Uganda, Tunisia and Senegal for the African crown that would earn them a berth at the 2019 World Cup in Japan.

In a provisional squad released by Paarwater in March, captain Brian Nyikuli, KCB skipper Curtis Lilako and his Kabras counterpart Max Adaka, Oliver Mangeni of KCB, Lyle Asiligwa of Quins and Nakuru’s Sammy Warui were all left out by the tactician.

Paarwater named 13 new faces to the team at the expense of the senior players.

The young lot includes George Asin, Philip Ikambili, Leo Seje, James Kubasu, Bramwell Mayaka. Elkeans Musonye, Alex Olaba, Oscar Simiyu, Brad Owako, George Nyambua, Peter Kilonzo, Benjamin Marshall and Steve Otieno.

Paarwater dropped Impala Saracens fly-half Nato Simiyu, inside centre Nick Barasa and scrum-half Edwin Achayo.

From the squad that started against Uganda in the first leg of 2016 Elgon Cup in Kampala, only six players survived the knife to make the 36-man squad.

Vincent Mose, who won the Uganda league title with Hima Cement Heathens, also has no place on the team while Nakuru’s Mike Okombe is ruled out with injury.

Only Moses Amusala, Simon Muniafu, Oliver Mang’eni, Isaac Adimo, Dennis Muhanji, David Ambunya and Darwin Mukidza started in Uganda and are in the current squad.

Dan Sikuta, currently contracted by Kenya Sevens, is also out of the team.

Simbas 2017 Squad

Forwards: Moses Amusala (KCB), George Asin (KCB), Dennis Karani ( Impala Saracens), Wilson Kopondo (Quins), Simon Muniafu (Impala Saracens), Davis Chenge (KCB), Eric Kerre (Impala Saracens), Edwin Machanje (Mwamba), James Kubasu (Impala Saracens), Peter Karia (KCB), Bramwell Mayaka (Homeboyz), Philip Ikambili (Menengai Cream Homeboyz),Oscar Simiyu (KCB), George Nyambua(Kabras Sugar),Ronnie Mwenesi (Nondescripts), Emmanuel Mavala (Homeboyz), Oliver Mang’eni (KCB), Elkeans Musonye (Strathmore Leos), Martin Owila (KCB), Steve Otieno (Homeboyz)

Backs: Samson Onsomu (Impala Saracens), Biko Adema (Nondescripts), Dennis Muhanji, Patrice Agunda (Quins), Leo Seje (Impala Saracens), Darwin Mukidza (KCB), Tony Onyango (Homeboyz), Kelvin Masai (Homeboyz), Isaac Adimo (Quins), Jacob Ojee (KCB), Brad Owako (Mwamba), David Ambunya (Quins), Alex Olaba (Strathmore Leos), Kenny Andola (KCB), Benjamin Marshall (Nondescripts), Peter Kilonzo (KCB)

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think