Nimrod Kintu has left Amus College School and joined Old Kampala S.S Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2017 Copa Schools Football:

  • 6th May – Reporting of schools
  • 7th May – Screening and verification of players
  • 8th – 20th May – Tournament competition days

At Masaka S.S (Hosting venues – Masaka Recreational Stadium, Hill Road playground, Masaka Technical ground, Gayaza playground, Nyendo – Kasana playground, Masaka Royal University, St Henry’s Kitovu, Arena playground)

[/media-credit] Coach Nimrod Kintu Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Amus College School head coach Nimrod Kintu believes it is time for his charges to win the national title.

The Teso region based school debuted at the nationals during the 2015 edition hosted by Duhaga High School in Hoima and nearly sent shock waves when they out stretched power house St Mary’s Kitende at the Round of 16 stage.

After leading the game for almost 90 minutes, Amus succumbed to pressure and conceded a late equalizer off Muhammed Shaban’s header before losing in the penalty shoot out 5-3.

Then, St Mary’s Kitende went ahead to win the championship after out-muscling Masaka S.S 4-0 in a one sided final.

To Amus College, this was a perfect learning curve as they also qualified for the 2016 edition hosted by Teso College Aloet in Soroti.

In Soroti, Amus College was a complete shadow of themselves having failed to skip the group stage hurdle.

For the third year running, Amus College, still under the guidance of Kintu as head coach have also made the national grade.

Kintu, also an active sports journalist working with Top Television in Kampala now wants the national title.

The ball is now in our court. In fact, we are our own enemies.

All we have to do is win each game in front of us and become champions.

[/media-credit] Nimrod Kintu, head coach at Amus College School Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Kintu will bank upon the experience of at least 8 players who played at the Duhaga edition.

After Peter Lusimbula completed his A-level, now the mantle and button has been officially handed over to fast paced striker cum winger Derrick Onyai.

Onyai, who currently turns out for FUFA Big League side Kataka will also pray his teammates in Ivan Eyamu, utility player Peter Okalanga, Daniel ‘Neymar’ Mugwanya, Vincent Outa and David Obua click the right buttons as well as tick correct the assembled boxes.

Coach Kintu acknowledges the level of competition has gone up with many schools assembling their best squads.

This will be a competitive tournament because all the schools have good teams

Derrick Onyai one of the star players for Amus College School Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Hosts Masaka S.S, defending champions Kibuli S.S, St Mary’s Kitende, Blessed Sacrament Kimanya, Buddo S.S, Mukono’s Dynamic S.S are some of the top contenders  for the crown.

These will be joined by outsiders Jinja S.S, Kasese Muslim, Sentah College, Caltec, Amus College, Citizen High School (Mbarara), Bulo, Gombe, St Julian and any other surprise package at the tournament.

This will be the third time that the Teso Region and Bukedea district champions will be playing at the national schools tournament.

There are 60 schools from 21 regions across the country represented at the two week’s championship.

Playing venues:

The host school, Masaka S.S has prepared a number of venues that will be used for the tournament according to the games master, Meddie Sserwadda at the school also baptized as Aga Khan.

In an exclusive interview with Kawowo Sports on Wednesday, he confirmed;

All the hosting play grounds are in shape and ready to be used

These include; Masaka Recreational Stadium, Hill Road playground, Masaka Technical ground, Gayaza playground, Nyendo – Kasana playground, Masaka Royal University, St Henry’s Kitovu and the Arena playground.

Kibuli S.S is the reigning champion.

Participating Schools:

Kampala Region:

Kibuli S.S (Defending champion)

Uganda Martyrs High School

Old Kampala Secondary School

Caltec Academy

Kakungulu Memorial School

West Nile Region:

Arua Secondary School

Nyangilia Secondary School

Kijomoro Secondary School

Acholi Region:

Bishop Angelo Negri College

St. Joseph College Layibi

Pajule College

Lango Region:

Aboke High School

Comboni College, Lira

Bright Light College, Lira

Karamoja Region:

Kotido Secondary School

Teso Region:

Amus College School, Bukedea

Kalaki Secondary School

Soroti Municipal Secondary School

Bukedi Region:

Buhobe Secondary School

Kibale Secondary School

St. Peter’s College, Tororo

Busoga Region:

Jinja Secondary School

Bukoyo Secondary School

Agape Secondary School

Jinja Progressive Academy

Bunyoro Region:

Panyadoli Secondary School

Kagadi Academy

Kabalega Secondary School

Tooro Region:

King Solomon Kyatega

Kasese Muslim Secondary School

Kamwenge Secondary and Vocational School

Ankole Region:

Citizen High School

Welden High School

Bushenyi Region:


St. Kaggwa High School

Kigezi Region:

Kigezi High School

Kabale Brainstorm High School

St. Gerald’s Secondary School, Nyakibale

Wakiso Region:

St. Mary’s Kitende

Buddo Secondary School

St. Julian High School

Boston High School, Mpala

Masaka Region:

Masaka Secondary School (Host)

Wagwa High School

Green Hill Secondary School, Kyamulibwa

Blessed Sacrament Secondary School

 Mpigi Region:

Bulo Parents Secondary School

St. Francis Secondary School, Busunju

Gombe Secondary School

Luwero Region:

Mulusa Academy

Nakaseke International College

Kiboga Progressive Secondary School

 Mukono Region:

Dynamic Secondary School

Namagabi Secondary School

Yale High School

Mbale (Bugisu) Region:

Nkoma Secondary

Mbale Progressive

Sironko Progressive

Sebei Region:

Sebei College

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think