Bob Trubish is the new Pool Association of Uganda Chairman Credit: Kawowo Sports

Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) Election Results:

  • Chairmanship: Bob Trubish (25 Votes), Godwin Kakuru Byensi (22 Votes) & Umar Mutaaya (6 Votes)
  • Vice Chairman: Dr. Herbert Turyagenda (23 votes), Alex Katushabe (15 Votes) & Ismail Kalibala (15 votes)
  • Secretary: David Mugabi (38 Votes) & Connie Aradikunda (15 Votes)
  • Publicity Secretary: Peter Kyobe (26 Votes) & Dennis Ngobi (27 Votes)

Un-opposed positions:

  • Treasurer: Oscar Ocacakon
  • Tournament Secretary: Pascal Ssengo
  • Secretary Women Affairs: Fauzia Namuganza
  • Secretary schools and Institutions: Jimmy Otim
[/media-credit] Bob Trubish of Hot Pool club is the new Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) chairman for another four years in office Credit: Facebook

“Tugende, Tugende….” were the chants of a visibly excited Hot Pool delegate Bob Trubish as the Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) vote tallying exercise was concluded at the Lugogo Indoor Arena in Kampala on Sunday.

This was after a tranquil well attended elective assembly that culminated into a peaceful voting process overseen by National Council of Sports’ official George Wagogo as well as Trust and Obey’s pool official Norlan Mugabi Bakulu.

Trubish had won a closely contested three man race with three votes margin to take over the PAU top mandate from Farouk Kisuze Wamala for the next four years.

This was after the former umpires’ Guild member tallied 25 votes, ahead of Godwin Kakuru Byensi and out-going PAU Vice president, Umar Mutaaya who returned 22 and 6 votes respectively.

Addressing the assembly moments after being announced, Trubish hinted on key note aspects that will steer the association in the desired right direction.

On every cloud, there is a silver lining. I thank the delegates for entrusting me with the mandate. I want to front the interests of pool to the general public and key stake holders.

We need a well sponsored league, i will be trustworthy and accountable.

We shall soon release a formal pool calendar, set up working committees and as well, review the constitution

Dr. Herbert Turyagenda was elected Vice president with the majority 23 votes ahead of Alex Katushabe and Ismail Kalibala who tallied 15 votes apiece.

Vastly experienced David Mugabi is the new secretary having white-washed Connie Aradikunda 38-15.

Club Klein’s Peter Kyobe lost out to Dennis Ngobi of Scrap Buyers for the Publicity Secretary post. Ngobi edged Kyobe by just one vote, winning 27-26.

Ngobi takes over the much desired publicity slot replacing Michael Mawanda.

[/media-credit] Former Uganda Pool Cranes captain, Oscar Ocacakon is now the new treasurer replacing Douglas Mayanja Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE


A couple of individuals were unopposed for the respective positions.

Retired Uganda Pools captain Oscar Ocacakon is the new in-coming Treasurer.

Pascal Ssengo was also unopposed as Tournament Secretary.

Other unopposed candidates were Fauzia Namuganza (Secretary of Women Affairs) and Jimmy Otim (Schools and Institutions).

The PAU elections had been earlier scheduled for January 29th 2017 but did not happen after clubs petitioned citing some irregularities.

Since then, an interim committee of 5 was granted the mandate to run the body temporarily as they clean up the house ahead of the fresh elections that took place on Sunday.

There are 27 eligible clubs that took part in the elections with 53 out of the expected 54 delegates voting.

Trubish assured the delegates that an official and formal handover will be organized before the pool season cues-off in June with the National Leagues (top tier, women and second division).

FULL PAU Executive:

President: Bob Trubish

Vice President: Dr. Herbert Turyagenda

Secretary: David Mugabi

Publicity Secretary: Dennis Ngobi

Treasurer: Oscar Ocacakon

Tournament Secretary: Pascal Ssengo

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think