Francis Ndege Othieno, the new coach of the U19 Cricket national team, has summoned 27 players to take part in residential training that will be conducted in Jinja during the school holiday.

Othieno is taking over from Henry Oketcho who has been in charge of the boys since 2015 where they managed to qualify for the global qualifiers in Malaysia.

The training is meant to sharpen the skills of the boys as they prepare for the U19 World Cup Qualifiers that will be held in Kenya Nairobi from July 1-8.

The impressive trio of Robert Ajuna, Patrick Busingye and Brian Asaba from Nyakasura have made the cut from which Coach Franco will choose his final 14.

The team will be counting on the experience of Captain Kenneth Waiswa, David Wabwire and Zephaniah Katungi who have all been training with the senior team with Waiswa and Wabwire having played in the recently concluded Easter Series with Kenya.

Team Manager of the U19 team Martin Ondeko said;

Well, we want to keep the players busy. Improve on he skill set and of course come up with the final working team out of the 27 players.

The camp is going to run from 10th May-20th of May at the Jinja SS. This residential training will also help the players bond together as a group as we look to qualify for the World Cup in 2018.

Namibia finished among the top 8 countries the recent U19 Cricket World Cup in Bangladesh meaning they don’t have to go through the Africa qualifiers, giving Uganda a very big chance of making the global showpiece in New Zealand 2018.

The tournament in Nairobi will feature Uganda, Kenya, Botswana and Ghana with the winners of the 4 nation tournament going straight into the World Cup.

Uganda has played in two editions of the Junior World Cup in 2002 and 2004 in Bangladesh and Srilanka respectively.

The current crop of players would want to emulate their senior colleagues the likes of Davis Karashani, Emmanuel Isaneez and current U19 team manager Martin Ondeko who have all featured at the global event.

The Squad

1. Kenneth Waiswa – Busoga College Mwiri

2. David Wabwire – Busoga College Mwiri

3. Zephania Arinaitwe – Mukono Parents School

4. Frank Akankwasa – Kololo SS

5. Eddy Agaba – Jinja SS

6. John Gabula – Kyambogo School

7. Siraje Nsubuga – Kololo SS

8. Steven Wabwose – Jinja SS

9. Rogers Olipa – Busoga College Mwiri

10. Perry Wazombe – Mukono Parents

11. Cosmas Kyewuta – Mukono Parents

12. Ashraf Ssenkubuge – Busoga College Mwiri

13. Trevor Bukenya – Busoga College Mwiri

14. Brian Adriko – Kololo SS

15. Simon Oketcho – Mukono Parents

16. Richard Agamire – Busoga College Mwiri

17. Joseph Byaruhanga – Busoga College Mwiri

18. Calvin Watuwa – Jinja SS

19. Ronald Opio – Kololo SS

20. Juma Miyaji – Mukono Parents

21. Aarya Parirk – Rainbow International

22. Abishek Mashru – Dehli Public School

23. Patrick Busingye – Nyakasura School

24. Robert Ajuna – Nyakasura School

25. Brian Asaba – Nyakasura School

26. Gerald Mubiru – Kololo SS

27. Collins Okwalinga – Masaka SS

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply