Referees during a Masaza closing ceremony held at Nelson Mandela National Stadium, Namboole Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2017 Airtel Buganda Masaza football tourney:

  • Opening match (Saturday, 13th May): Buddu Vs Mawogola
  • At Masaka Recreational stadium, Masaka (3:30 p.m)
[/media-credit] Referees assemble for the official photograph prior to kick off of the 2016 Masaza finale at Namboole stadium Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

The match officials to handle the opening match of the 2017 Airtel Masaza Cup between hosts Buddu and rivals Mawogola have been released.

The development was confirmed on Thursday by Faridah Bongole, the tournament official mouth piece.

Bongole disclosed to Kawowo Sports;

The committee appointing the referees named the officials who will handle the opening match between Buddu and Mawogola.

We expect a great match also watched by His Highness, Ssabasajja Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II

The tournament referees’ organizing committee named former FIFA referee Rajab Bakasambe as the center referee.

Isa Masembe and Fred Kiwanuka are the first and second assistant referees respectively.

Meanwhile, Charles Wasswa is the fourth official.

The others shall be Edrisa Kiwanuka as the referee assessor and Samuel Mpiima who will be the match commissioner.

His Majesty the Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II shall be the chief guest amidst thousands of spectators and Kingdom well-wishers as the tournament gets underway.

The annual tournament is sponsored by Airtel Uganda as the main financiers.

Last week, Airtel Uganda handled over the official match balls, money and kits to each of the 19 Masaza teams at Bulange in Mengo, Kampala.

Mawokota and Gomba have won the tournament a record three times each. Other winners are Buddu, Singo, Bulemeezi, Kooki, Kyadondo and Buluri.

Match officials:

Center Referee: Rajab Bakasambe

1st Assistant Referee: Isa Masembe

2nd Assistant Referee: Fred Kiwanuka

4th Official: Charles Wasswa

Referee assessor: Edirisa Kiwanuka

Match Commissioner: Samuel Mpiima

Masaza Cup Football Champions (Since 2004):

2016 – Buddu

2015 – Singo

2014 – Gomba

2013 – Mawokota

2012– Bulemeezi

2011– Buluri

2010– Not Held

2009– Gomba

2008– Kyadondo

2007– Mawokota

2006– Kooki

2005– Mawokota

2004– Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think