The New AIPS Executive committee Credit: Ritah Aliguma
[/media-credit] The New AIPS Executive committee. Giovanni Merlo is 4th from left on front row Credit: Ritah Aliguma

Italian sports journalist, reporter at La Gazzetta dello Sport, Giovanni ‘Gianni’ Merlo has been re-elected as president of International Sports Press Association (AIPS) for another four year term (2017-2021).

This was during the final day of the 80th AIPS Congress in Pyeongchang, South Korea on Friday.

He  was re-elected un-opposed for what will be his fourth term.

In his acceptance speech, Merlo called for global sports journalists to unite and tackle the problems that lay on their professional paths.

Esat Yilmaer from Turkey was re-elected for the position of first Vice President, while Jura Ozmec from Croatia was elected unopposed to take over the position of AIPS Treasurer from Austria’s Michael Kuhn.

Kenya’s Evelyn Watta was also elected among the vice presidents.

Uganda was ably represented by the Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) vice president Ritah Aliguma who was the only delegate.

Aliguma, in an exclusive interview with Kawowo Sports noted;

Generally the organization was very good, hospitality, programs well set.
But it takes teamwork, passion, unity, determination and government support to have such an event.
Uganda can host the same even because I believe there’s nothing to big and nothing to small.
If our neighbors Kenya, who came and learnt how to run the association from us two years ago and today, they firmly stand to host the AIPS Africa Congress, why not Uganda? Team work
As regards Evelyn’s election, it is a huge stride for women. She beat all men and the incumbent with 90.8% which shows that now women are being appreciated.
She is a hard working lady, an Iron lady and this is a great opportunity for the Young ladies in sport.
Such positions can also be taken over by the young or fresh blood. She has set the pace and she has built our confidence

Antalya, Turkey has been confirmed as the host of the 81st AIPS Congress in last week of April 2018.

The newly elected AIPS Executive Committee:

President: Gianni Merlo (Italy)

First Vice President: Esat Yilmaer (Turkey)

Treasurer: Jura Ozmec (Croatia)
Vice Presidents: Evelyn Watta (Kenya), Nikolai Dologopolov (Russia), Ioannis Daras (Greece), Hiji Al Mohammed (Qatar), AIPS Africa President Mitchel Obi (Nigeria), AIPS America President Gabriel Cazenave (Paraguay), AIPS Europe President Charles Camnezuli (Malta)

Seyed Abdolhamid Ahmadi (Iran), Zsuzsa Csisztu (Hungary), Vicente Dattoli (Brazil), Emanuel Fantaneanu (Romania), Hee Don Jung (Korea), Ahmadi Kawari Isa (Malaysia), Josef Langer (Austria), Amjad Amzaz Malik (Pakistan), Morad Moutaouakkil (Morocco), Juan Antonio Prieto (Spain), Jean Paul Savart (France), Hiroshi Takeuchi (Japan), Joze Zidar (Slovenia).

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think