AbdulSamadu Mugisha (left) is the chairman of the Entebbe Sports Governing committee Credit: Isaac
[/media-credit] AbdulSamadu Mugisha (left) is the chairman of the Entebbe Sports Governing committee Credit: Isaac

In a bid to promote the game of football in Entebbe Municipality, Mayor Vincent Kayanja DePaul has inaugurated a nine member committee that will oversee all football related activities in the Municipality.

This followed a partnership deal between the Chinese city of Wuhan and Entebbe Municipal Council to promote the game of football between the two cities.

Entebbe Football Club’s Abdul Samad ‘Kagisa’ Mugisha is the inaugural chairperson of the governing body.

Mugisha overcame Entebbe International’s Charles Kamya Kayanja 16-7 votes  in heated elections that were organized at the Municipal Council hall.

Buganda Region’s CEO Muzafaru Ssebagala Muzafalu presided over the elections.

The new chairperson in his opening remarks noted;

I would like to thank the members for the trust they have given me.

Our job as the football governing body is to promote the game of football in Entebbe Municipality.

Let us remain united, transparent and cooperative.

Let us walk the talk and avoid squabbles that will tear us apart.

Mugisha also revealed that through Entebbe Municipal Council, Wuhan will donate sets of Jerseys, football boots and other equipment to the eight registered teams that include; Entebbe F.C, Masavu, Viva la vie, Entebbe International, Manyago, Banga, Entebbe Leopards and Mapeera.

Masavu Football Club official Edward Jingo is the first vice president as Henry Mugambe is the second vice president.

There were also parish heads. Silas Onyero heads the Katabi parish, Patrick Ssewanyana (central Parish), Deafas Kyoteekera is for Kiggungu, Richard Mulindwa for Kiwafu.

Grace Auma and FUFA referee Freddie Mpiima Nyumirizza represents the women and special interest groups respectively.

Full executive of Entebbe Sports committee:

1st Vice Chairman – Edward Jingo

2nd Vice Chairman – Henry Mugambe

Katabi Parish – Silas Kal Onyero

Kigungu Parish – Deafs Kyoteekera

Central Parish – Patrick Ssewanyana

Kiwafu Parish – Richard Mulindwa

Special Interest Group – Freddie Mpiima

Women Representative – Grace Auma

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think