PORT ELIZABETH, SOUTH AFRICA - JUNE 15: Salomon Kalou of Ivory Coast reacts during the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Group G match between Ivory Coast and Portugal at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on June 15, 2010 in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. (Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images)
[/media-credit] Kalou is back despite annoucing retirement early this year Credit: Courtesy

Ahead of his first assignment since being appointed Ivory Coast Coach, Marc Wilmots had recalled striker Salomon Kalou from retirement.

The former Chelsea striker, now at German side, Hertha Berlin has been included in Wilmots’ 27-man squad for the friendly against Netherlands and the 2019 AFCON qualifier against Guinea in June.

Kalou announced his retirement from international duty after Ivory Coast’s abysmal performance at the Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon where they failed to defend their crown after elimination at the group stages.

The veteran centre forward joins other key members of the team – Eric Bailly of Machester United, PSG’s Serge Aurier, Sunderland’s Lamine KOne and Wilfried Zaha who turns out for Crystal Palace in England.

Meanwhile, former France youth internationals Jean-Philippe Gbamin, Jeremie Boga and Maxwell Cornet  have also been included in the squad.

The Elephants will play the Dutch on June 4 and then take on the Syli Nationale of Guinea on June 9.

Ivory Coast squad:

Goalkeepers: Sylvain Gbohouo (TP Mazembe, DR Congo) Axel Kacou (Tours, France), Mandé Sayouba (Stabaek, Norway), Ali Badra Sangaré (AS Tanda, Ivory Coast), Abdoul Karim Cissé (SC Gagnoa, Ivory Coast)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Paris St Germain, France), Mamadou Bagayoko (St Truiden, Belgium), Eric Bailly (Man Utd, England), Simon Deli (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Lamine Koné (Sunderland, England), Ismaël Traoré (Angers, France), Wilfried Kanon (ADO Hague, Netherlands), Adama Traoré (FC Bâsel, Switzerland), Joris Gnagnon (Rennes, France), Ghislain Konan (Guimaraes, Portugal)

Midfielders: Cheick Doukouré (Metz, France), Franck Kessié (Atalanta, Italy), Geoffroy Serey Dié (FC Basel, Switzerland), Jean-Philippe Gbamin (Mainz, Germany), Jean Michaël Séri (Nice, France)

Attackers: Nicolas Pépé (Angers, France), Maxwell Cornet (Lyon, France), Giovanni Sio (Rennes, France), Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace, England), Jérémie Boga (Grenada/Spain), Salomon Kalou (Hertha Berlin, Germany), Seydou Doumbia (FC Bâsel, Switzerland)

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think