Geoffrey Sserunkuma celebrates goal against Mamelodi Sundowns Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO
[/media-credit] KCCA celebrate after being handed the trophy at Lugogo Credit: © Kawowo Sports / AISHA NAKATO

KCCA won their second successive title in 2016-17, comfortably finishing ahead of their rivals for the Uganda Premier league title.

It was KCCA’s 12th national championship victory, and one that surprised nobody with another convincing season at the top of the table.

Despite the predictable nature of the team finishing in first place, the battle for relegation provided plenty more variety, with Police, Kirinya Jinja SS, Bul and Bright Stars surviving the drop on the last day.

SC Villa failed to really challenge Mike Mutebi’s side partly because of lack goals until the January arrival of Emmanuel Okwi while Vipers, URA and Express made a false start to the campaign with abysmal performances in the first half of the season.

Nevertheless, save for the golden boot winner, Geoffrey Sserunkuma, there were no outstanding players from the Kasasiro and that’s reflected in my Team of the Season which is evenly spread over KCCA, Vipers and SC Villa.


Ismail Watenga of Vipers Sports Club Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS

Ismael Watenga (Vipers): In a campaign most Vipers’ players coiled, Watenga stood out. The goalkeeper has kept a record 14 clean sheets and was imperative in keeping his side in most of the games. He has been outstanding and beats his closest rivals, Thomas Ikaara (Kirinya Jinja SS) and Benjamin Ochan (KCCA) hands down.


[/media-credit] Musa Mukasa battles for the ball with SC Villa’s Godfrey Lesibawa Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Musa Mukasa (Express): The new Express FC skipper has been the Red Eagles’ most consistent player with a good display at right back. Mukasa’s game improvement has seen him not only defend well but also go forward nicely. Onduparaka’s Gasper comes close though.

[/media-credit] Vipers’ Halid Lwaliwa (R) contests for a ball with KCCA’s Paul Mucureezi Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers): For the second successive season, the young defender makes the team thanks to his consistency.

Lwaliwa’s assuredness and command of the backline has been phenomenal and is one of the promising centre defenders in the country.

[/media-credit] Habib Kavuma Credit: Courtesy

Habib Kavuma (KCCA): What a season the experienced lad has had! The former left back turned central defender has been the one of the constants in Mike Mutebi’s changing team and rightly so.

His game reading and decision making have been fantastic and deserves a slot ahead of SC Villa’s duo of Henry Katongole and Paul Mbowa as well as Kirinya Jinja SS Kawooya who have also had a good season.

[/media-credit] Ambrose Kirya and John Adriko Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

John Adriko (SC Villa): Not so many left backs have had an outstanding season but Adriko edges the rest.

The young defender has been fearless both in defence and attack and beats the likes of Isaac Muleme (KCCA), Yayo Lutimba (Express) and Dan Birikwalira (Vipers) who have been in and out of their starting teams.


[/media-credit] Taddeo Lwanga has been a consistency performer for the Jogoos in midfield Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Taddeo Lwanga (SC Villa): The ‘football engineer’ as nicknamed by the fans has been the heartbeat of SC Villa’s team.

An anchorman with the ability to win, retain and circulate the ball from deep, Lwanga has also spared time to get on the score sheet this season.

He is a commander who never gives up and perfectly deserves to be on the team of the season.

[/media-credit] Saddam Juma and Halid Lwaliwa Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

Ibrahim Saddam Juma (Express): Not many gave him a chance when he joined the Red Eagles after being deemed surplus at Kitende but he has made them eat their words.

The midfield gem has been the inspiration behind the Eagles surge not only dictating the tempo in the midfield but also managed over seven goals for the club.

It’s no surprise that KCCA have broken the bank to have him at Lugogo ahead of their continental engagements.

[/media-credit] KCCA FC midfielder Muzamir Mutyaba is arguably the best creative midfielder in the league Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA): The midfielder was the creative force behind KCCA’s good season going forward.

Mutyaba bagged more than eight assists this campaign and is a darling at Lugogo.


[/media-credit] Geoffrey Sserunkuma trailed by Allan Okello Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA): His goals speak volumes and he becomes the first player since Herman Wasswa to net 20+ goals in a campaign with 21 goals.

His goals alone are worth 35.5 points of what the Kasasiro have managed this season.

[/media-credit] Emmanuel Okwi ceelbrates of one his goals Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa): The centre forward makes the team despite playing only 12 games in the campaign.

Okwi has the league’s best game to goal ratio after scoring 10 goals and is arguably one of the reasons the Jogoos mounted a serious title challenge. He makes the team ahead of the inconsistent Muhammad Shaban who was a no show in the second half of the season.

tony odur vipers vs kcca
[/media-credit] Striker Tony Odur returns to the Vipers’ side after missing the 2-1 loss to SC Villa on Saturday

Tonny Odur (Vipers): Odur has been phenomenal for the Venoms and arguably their best signing of the season.

The striker has netted 12 goals for the Vipers and ends the campaign 9 goals adrift of the golden boot winner.

He beats Proline’s Nelson Ssenkatuka for a slot on the team.

Best XI (4-3-3): Ismail Watenga (GK), Musa Mukasa, Halid Lwaliwa, Habib Kavuma, John Adriko, Saddam Juma, Taddeo Lwanga, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Tony Odur, Emmanuel Okwi and Geoffrey Sserunkuma.

[/media-credit] Mike Mutebi Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

COACH – Mike Hilary Mutebi (KCCA)


Thomas Ikaara (Kirinya Jinja SS), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA), Gasper Adriko (Onduparaka), Paul Mucureezi (KCCA), Muhammad Shaban (Onduparaka), Deus Bukenya (Vipers), Gadafi Gadinho (Onduparaka), Isaac Kirabira (KCCA), Denis Okot (KCCA), Martin Kizza (SC Villa), Gift Ali (Proline), Shafik Kagimu (URA) and Julius Mutyaba (URA).

But do you agree with the selection, overall? Let the debate begin!

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think