John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses

Victor Moses and Captain John Obi Mikel have been left out of the Nigeria squad summoned for their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON, qualifying match against the Bafana Bafana of South Africa.

Super Eagles technical adviser, Gernot Rohr called up 24 players to camp with Moses and Obi missing the list despite the former’s stellar season at English Premier League champions Chelsea.

John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses

Rohr called Ogenyi Onazi, Elderson Echiejile, Ahmed Musa, Kenneth Omeruo, South Africa-based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, home-based professional Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Portugal-based Dele Alampasu.

Defenders summoned include William Ekong, Chidozie Awaziem, Abdullahi Shehu, Tyronne Ebuehi, Zamalek FC of Egypt’s Maroof Youssef and Echiejile.

The Super Eagles will host the Bafana Bafana at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo in their first AFCON 2019 qualifying match.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); William Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Maroof Youssef (Zamalek FC, Egypt)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Henry Onyekuru (KAS Eupen, Belgium); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany); Olanrewaju Kayode (FK Austria Wien, Austria)

Deputy Editor at Kawowo Sports. He is an aspiring Sport Psychologist.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think