Olila High School Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

In a change of format to help the Senior Ladies team prepare for the T20 World Cup qualifiers later this year, UCA has decided to have the Division One teams in the National League play in a T20 format while the Division Two teams play 40 Overs.

Teams play each other twice in a day instead of the solitary 40 Over game in Division One.

The opening day had mixed results with the teams winning in the morning losing in the afternoon.

Wanderers and Jinja SS squared each other with a win each, with the former wining by 6 wickets in the morning and the latter in the afternoon.

Wanderers had the experienced duo of Gloria Adubu and Consy Aweko from KICC added to Janet Mbabazi and company. Rita Musamali and Stephanie Nampiina didn’t disappoint with senior ladies wicket-keeper Kevin Awino offering support.

Newcomers Olila beat Tornado B in the morning by 6 wickets but lost to the same opposition in the afternoon by 9 wickets.

Tornado B left nothing to chance against a tricky Olila they brought in seasoned internationals Sarah Uwera from Rwanda and Kenya’s Mary Wambui.

In the only Division Two game, Ndejje beat Charity by 4 wickets. Ndejje which plays under the hospice of Premeir Cricket Club managed to score a very good win playing in front of their home crowd.



MATCH 1: Wanderers Vs Jinja Sss CC (Morning)
Wanderers 63/4 in 13.4 overs beat Jinja SSS 63/4 in 14 overs by 6 Wickets at Lugogo oval
Toss won by Wanderers CC who chose to field.
Batting Jinja SSS: Stephanie Nampiina 21 Not out off 17 balls, Sarah Walaza 15 off 20 balls.
Bowling Wanderers: Consy Aweko 3/14 in 3 overs
Batting Wanderers: Janet Mbabazi 28 off 34 balls, Gloria Adubu 13 Not Out off 34 balls.
Bowling Jinja SSS: Brenda Nabisalu 1/5 in 2 overs.
Player of match: Consy Aweko (Wanderers CC)

MATCH 2: Tornado bee CC Vs Olila CC (Morning)
Olila CC 103/6 in 18.3 overs beat Tornado Bee CC 99/5 in 20 overs by 4 Wickets at Kyambogo Oval.
Toss won by Olila CC who chose to field.
Batting Tornado Bee: Mary Nalule 23 off 37 balls, Naome Kayondo 20 off 29 balls.
Bowling Olila: Racheal Ntono 2/11 in 4 overs.
Batting Olila: Gertrude Candiru 31 Not out off 41 balls, Racheal Ntono 18 off 20 balls.
Bowling Tornado Bee: Mary Wambui 1/4 in 4 Overs.
Player of Match: Gertrude Candiru (Olila CC)

MATCH 3: Jinja SSS CC Vs Wanderers CC (Afternoon)
Wanderers 75/10 in 20 overs lost to Jinja SSS 102/4 in 20 overs by 27 runs at Lugogo oval.
Toss won by Wanderers CC who opted to field.
Batting Jinja SSS: Stephanie Nampiina 36 off 19 balls, Janet Nakiranda 22 off 39 balls.
Bowling Wanderers: Evelyn Anyipo 1/6 in 4 overs.
Batting Wanderers: Consy Aweko 26 Not Out off 58 balls.
Bowling Jinja SSS: Sarah Walaza 5/18 in 4 overs.
Player of match: Sarah Walaza (Jinja SSS)

MATCH 4: Tornado Bee CC Vs Olila CC (Afternoon)
Tornado Bee CC 71/1 in 10.2 overs beat Olila CC 67/5 in 18 overs by 9 Wickets at Kyambogo Oval.
Toss won by Tornado Bee who chose to field.
Batting Olila: Gertrude Candiru 22 Not Out off 48 balls, Racheal Ntono 20 off 35 balls
Bowling Tornado Bee: Naome Kayondo 2/10 in 3 overs.
Batting Tornado Bee: Sarah Uwera 23 off 40 balls, Mary Nalule 22 Not Out off 35 balls.
Bowling Olila: Gertrude Candiru 1/21 in 3 overs.
Player of match: Mary Nalule (Tornado Bee CC)


Charity Trust Fund CC 95/10 in 23.2 Overs lost to Premier CC 97/6 in 19.2 Overs by 4 Wicets at Ndejje ground.
Toss won by Charity TFCC who chose to bat.

Batting Charity: Rachel Kagoya 19 off 41 balls, Zam Nakimuli 15 off 10 balls
Bowling Premier: Charity Nyokaru 4/11 in 3.2 overs, Pauline Natembo 2/8 in 3 overs.
Batting Premier: Joy Nakanjako 21 off 38 balls, Patience Bitubyo 20 Not out off 24 balls.
Bowling Charity: Rosemary Nalubega 3/19 in 4 overs.
Player of match: Charity Nyokaru (Premier CC).

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply