Morocco also played at the CHAN finals in Rwanda last year Credit: CAF

Inaugural CHAN champions Libya became the first team to qualify for the 2018 edition.

This followed a 1-1 draw with Algeria in Sfax on Friday.

They were joined by Morocco that beat Egypt 3-1 in Rabat.

Winners in 2014 in South Africa, the Libyans advanced 3-1 on aggregate, on the wings of a a 2-1 win in the first leg in Constantine last week.

It is the third time, after the maiden edition in 2009 that the Mediterranean Knights have qualified for the finals of the competition designed exclusively for footballers playing in their domestic leagues.

Despite hosting the game in the Tunisian city of Sfax due to the political instability back home, the Libyan side dominated by players of CAF Champions League 2017 quarter finalists, Ahly Tripoli, gave a good account of themselves against a very determined Algerian team, who made clear their intent from the start.

These were joined by Uganda, Zambia, Congo on Saturday.

The final tournament will take place from 12 January to 4 February 2018 in Kenya.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think