Uganda Cranes players and officials appreciate fans at Nyamirambo Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO
Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

© Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

Uganda Cranes line up vs. Rwanda at NyamiramboUganda and Ivory Coast over the weekend became the record holders for most Africa Nations Championship (Chan) finals by qualifying for Kenya 2018 edition.

The Cranes held off a resilient Rwanda to reach the fourth finals despite an early scare in Nyamirambo as Amavubi took a 2-0 lead inside just 20 minutes.

Uganda qualified 3-2 on aggregate and will now represent the Eastern Zone at the finals early next year.

The former runners up in the Africa Nations Cup have now missed out on one edition, the inaugural one held in Ivory Coast in 2009.

Meanwhile, Ivory Coast who took part in the maiden tournament as hosts saw off Niger on away goals rule following a 1-0 home win.

The Elephants had lost the first leg 2-1 away from home and have now missed just once – 2014, the edition held in South Africa.

Despite so, none of the two have won the competition – Uganda has never made it out of the group whilst Ivory Coast’s biggest achievement remains losing to DR Congo in the finals in 2009.

Here is a list of teams to have ever played the Chan tournament.

2009 qualified nations (DR Congo Champions)

Ivory Coast – Hosts

Libya – Northern Zone

Senegal – Western Zone A

Ghana – Western Zone B

DR Congo – Central Zone

Tanzania – Central Eastern Zone

Zambia – Southern Zone

Zimbabwe – Southern Zone

2011 qualified Nations (Tunisia champions)

Sudan – Hosts

Algeria, Tunisia – Northern Zone

Mali, Senegal – Western Zone A

Ghana, Ivory Coast, Niger – Western B

Cameroon, DR Congo, Gabon – Central Zn=one

Rwanda, Uganda – Eastern Zone

Angola, South Africa, Zimbabwe – Southern

2014 qualified nations

South Africa – Hosts (Libya Champions)

Libya, Morocco – Northern

Mauritania, Mali – Western A

Ghana, Nigeria, Burkina Faso – Western B

Congo, Gabon, DR Congo – Central Zone

Burundi, Ethiopia, Uganda – Eastern Zone

Zimbabwe, Mozambique – Southern Zone

2016 qualified Nations (DR Congo champions)

Morocco, Tunisia – Northern Zone

Guinea, Mali – Western A

Ivory Coast, Niger, Nigeria – Western B

Cameroon, DR Congo, Gabon – Central Zone

Ethiopia, Uganda – Eastern Zone

Angola, Zimbabwe, Zambia – Southern Zone

2018 qualified Nations (???)

Kenya – Hosts

Libya, Morocco – Northern Zone

Mauritania, Senegal/Guinea – Western A

Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast – Western B

Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Congo – Central Zone

Uganda, Sudan – Eastern Zone

Angola, Namibia, Zambia – Southern Zone.

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply