Kabaka Mutebi greets the Gomba Ssaza team players prior to kick off of the 2017 final at Namboole stadium Credit: Airtel Uganda

2017 Airtel Masaza Cup

  • Finals: Gomba 1-0 Ssingo
  • 3rd Place match: Buddu 4-2 Buddu

Individual Accolades

  • MVP: Frank Ssemakula (Busiro)
  • Best Goalkeeper: Juma Kirabira (Gomba)
  • Top Scorers: Joseph Janjali (Gomba) and Steven Mukwala (Ssingo) –  8 goals each
[/media-credit] Gomba Ssaza team greets the Kabaka shortly before kick off Credit: Airtel Uganda

Gomba Lions roared loudest as they pipped Ssingo 1-0 to claim their fourth Airtel Masaza Cup at Mandela National Stadium in Kampala on Saturday.

Nicholas Kabonge scored the all important goal in the 68th minute  in a well contested final watched by His Majesty Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II among hundreds of football passionate spectators.

Simon Ddungu coached side is now the record holders of the tourney, following victories in 2004 during the maiden tourney, 2009, 2014.

[/media-credit] Kabaka greets Ssingo Ssaza team players before kick off Credit: Airtel Uganda

In the third place playoff match, Buddu came back from two goals down to shock  Busiro 4-2 during the early kick-off duel.

Richard Kalule scored in the 6th and 35th minutes as Busiro took a two goal cushion heading to the half time break.

Micdad Ssenyonga, Frank Ssebuufu, Ivan Sserubiri’s penalty and Ivan Kato sealed the feat for Buddu in a remarkable come back to claim third place that came along with bronze medals and a cash prize of Shs5M.

Busiro pocketed Shs3M for the 4th place finish.

The champions were rewarded Shs10M, a trophy and gold medals. Ssingo took home silver medals and Shs7M.

Joint tournament top scorer, Joseph Jjanjali of Gomba (with 8 goals as Ssingo’s Steven Mukwala) returned to the winning podium just like last year as he did with Buddu.

Unlike in the 2016 final when he was down with fever, Jjanjali this time round played in the final.

A filled up section of fans at Namboole stadium during the 2017 final of the Airtel Masaza tournament

Over the years, the Masaza tournament has proven as the biggest crowd pulling championship in Uganda and a fertile platform to expose talents.

Uganda Cranes stars as Emmanuel Okwi, Godfrey Walusimbi, Robert Odongkara, Yasser Mugerwa, among others are testament in this noble cause.

Airtel Masaza Cup  All Winners

  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012– Bulemeezi
  • 2011– Buluri
  • 2010– Not Held
  • 2009– Gomba
  • 2008– Kyadondo
  • 2007– Mawokota
  • 2006– Kooki
  • 2005- Mawokota
  • 2004- Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think