SC Villa Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
  • 2017/18 Uganda Premier League (Match day 1)
  • Tuesday, 12th September 2017:
  • SC Villa Jogoo Vs Soana – Masaka Recreational Stadium, 4:00 p.m
[/media-credit] SC Villa new players being unveiled at Villa Park on Sunday Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

13 solid years have elapsed since Sports Club Villa Jogoo last won the Uganda Premier League.

Club players, fans, administrators and keen sympathizers are seeking for quick solutions as remedies to the league trophy drought.

Last season, the Jogoos got close, finishing second on the 16 team log behind eventual champions KCCA Football Club.

On Sunday, the Jogoos officially set the ball rolling at Villa Park in Nsambya in the quest of their 17th league title.

Key on the day’s agenda was the official unveiling ceremony of their 2017/18 squad before the fans, official introduction of the assistant coach (Paul Mukatabala), launch of the much treasured season tickets as well as discussion of initiatives to maintain the club’s glowing status.

There was excitement as the patron Geraldo Kasozi, flanked by the club president Ben Immanuel Misagga, introduced player after player with deafening cheers from the Jogoo faithfuls.

“We are a role model club and winning is paramount. This season, we want to work hard to win the league and the Uganda Cup,” Kasozi noted.

Misagga clapped and smiled heartily despite his frail state as the players (new and old) were being introduced.

[/media-credit] SC Villa new and old players for the 2017/18 season Credit:

The new players on board are Musa Mukasa, Allan Kyambadde, Simon Sserunkuma, Issa Lumu, Mahad ‘Yaya’ Kakooza (all from Express), goalkeeper Michael Maweja, midfielder Nicholas Kasozi, forward George Ssenkaaba, Sanoni Mulabi and youngster Salim Abdallah were officially introduced before the administrators and fans.

Club legend Paul Mukatabala was also unveiled as the new assistant coach to head tactician Wasswa Bbosa.

“I want to front professionalism. I will impact my experience acquired over the years onto the club and ensure consistency in performance is given keen attention,” Mukatabala said in an interview.

[/media-credit] SC Villa president Ben Immanuel Misagga displays a season ticket sample before the fans Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Old Guards

The old players at the club include; Samson Kirya (goalkeeper),  Ramathan Dudu, Joseph Nsubuga, John Adriko, Henry Katongole, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Farouk Musisi, Ambrose Kirya, Abel Eturude, Bernard Muwanga, Godfrey Lwesibawa, Vitalis Tabu, Alex ‘Benzema’ Kitata, Yubu Bogere, Alex Ssemuyaba, Martin Kizza and Hassan Muddu.

Muwanga is the new team skipper taking over from Tadeo Lwanga who joined Vipers.

Defender Henry Katongole and stylish midfielder Abel Eturude are the first and second assistant captains respectively.

SC Villa fans deliver items for the players Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
SC Villa fans parade some of the eats for the players at Villa Park, Nsambya on Sunday Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS

“Our target is to win the trophy. I am excited about all the new players who have joined us. They are good players and we shall work as a unit to win silverware,” Muwanga noted.

[/media-credit] Paul Mukatabala waves to SC Villa fans after being unveiled at Villa Park on Sunday Credit: Courtesy
The Jogoos technical team for the season 2017/18 Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS
[/media-credit] Midfielder Allan Kyambadde being unveiled at SC Villa Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

The Jogoos travel to Masaka on Monday ahead of their Tuesday engagement with Soana at the Masaka Recreational Stadium.

Uganda Premier League winners since inception:

  • 1968–69: Prisons FC (Kampala)
  • 1969: Prisons FC (Kampala)
  • 1970: Coffee United SC (Kakira)
  • 1971: Simba FC (Lugazi)
  • 1974: Express FC (Kampala)
  • 1975: Express FC (Kampala)
  • 1976: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 1977: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 1978: Simba FC (Lugazi)
  • 1979: Uganda Commercial Bank FC (Kampala)
  • 1980: Nile Breweries (Jinja)
  • 1981: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 1982: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1983: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 1984: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1985: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 1986: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1987: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1988: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1989: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1990: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1991: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 1992: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1993: Express (Kampala)
  • 1994: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1995: Express (Kampala)
  • 1996: Express (Kampala)
  • 1997: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 1998: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 1999: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 2000: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 2001: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 2002: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 2002–03: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 2004: SC Villa (Kampala)
  • 2005: Police FC (Jinja)
  • 2006: Uganda Revenue Authority SC (Kampala)
  • 2006–07: Uganda Revenue Authority SC (Kampala)
  • 2007–08: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 2008–09: Uganda Revenue Authority SC (Kampala)
  • 2009–10: Bunamwaya SC (Wakiso)
  • 2010–11: Uganda Revenue Authority SC (Kampala)
  • 2011–12: Express FC (Kampala)
  • 2012–13: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 2013–14: KCC FC (Kampala)
  • 2014–15: Vipers SC (Wakiso)
  • 2015–16: KCCA FC (Kampala)
  • 2016–17: KCCA FC (Kampala)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think