Philip Wokorach Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
[/media-credit] Philip Wokorach converts against Tunisia during a Gold Cup match at Legends Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Starting October 6, Uganda Rugby Cranes sevens team will have a chance of defending their crown.

The home side has been drawn in Pool A with Tunisia, Morocco, Zambia and Ghana.

The Pools are for the championship are based on the 2016 Africa Men’s Sevens ranking. Uganda are seed one having defeated Namibia to win the championship held in Nairobi last year.

Rivals and neighbours Kenya have already qualified for the World Series, the Sevens World Cup and the Commonwealth Games and will not take part in the event to be hosted at Legends.

The team is currently in Germany having travelled to take part in the October Fest sevens and will return to defend their home turf.

Uganda is hosting the tournament for the first time in their history.

Therefore the new ranking used to determine the pools is:

1.Uganda, 2. Madagascar, 3. Zimbabwe, 4. Tunisia, 5. Morocco, 6. Senegal, 7. Botswana, 8. Zambia, 9. Ghana, 10.

Mauritius Nigeria has been suspended from competitions.

The pools are formed according to this format

  • Pool A: 1, 4, 5, 8, 9
  • Pool B: 2, 3, 6, 7, 10

2016 Rankings

1. Uganda, 2. Namibia, 3. Kenya, 4. Madagascar, 5. Zimbabwe, 6. Tunisia, 7. Nigeria, 8. Morocco, 9, Senegal, 10. Botswana, 11. Zambia, 12. Mauritius

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think