2017 Independence Pool Championship


  • Men: Sula Matovu
  • Women: Sharon Mirembe
Sula ‘Kawujjo Matovu on pool table during the 2017 Independence cup in Masaka KAWOWO SPORTS

After close to three years off the Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) event calendar, the Independence tournament resurfaced.

Club Klein in Nyendo, Masaka hosted the two-day championship that attracted the finest players on the land.

Reigning National Pool Champion Sula Matovu edged Alfred Gumukiriza 6-3 in the exciting final, graced by a big gathering that included the PAU president Bob Trubish and many of the Executive Committee members.

In the women’s final, Sharon Mirembe outwitted Angella Businge 5-4 in nail biting fashion to smile home with the glittering trophy, gold medal and cash rewards.

Sula Matovu and Sharon Mirembe smile with their trophies and certificates after the official prize giving ceremony KAWOWO SPORTS

Focus quickly turns to the domestic league matches as the male players fine tune their skills ahead of the prestigious National Pool Open meet at Lugogo on 28th October 2017.

Top pool players show off their rewards KAWOWO SPORTS

“This was a great victory to add onto my long list of accolades and as well, give me the confidence ahead of the national open at Lugogo,” Matovu said.

Over 150 players (men and women) attended the PAU sanctioned event.

Excelling players were rewarded with certificates, money and trophies.

The next individual tournament will be the Christmas Cup (venue will be confirmed).

Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) boss Bob Trubish (right) handed over the top prizes to the winners at Club Klein in Nyendo KAWOWO SPORTS

2017 Independence Cup Full Results (From quarter finals to finals):


  • Final: Sula ”Kawujjo Matovu 6-3 Alfred ‘Black Sheep’ Gumikiriza
  • Third Place play off: Salongo Uthman Bukenya 4-2 Musa Ssekiliba


  • Sula Matovu 5-2 Salango Uthman Bukenya
  • Alfred Gumikiriza 5 -2 Musa Ssekiliba

Quarter Finals:

  • Sula Matovu (C.K.I) 5 – 2 Bob ‘Atagenda’ Kateregga
  • Salongo Uthman Bukenya (Skin Samona) 5 – 3 Richard Kalungi (Capital Night)
  • William Mirembe (C.K.I) 2 – 5 Musa Ssekiliba (C.K.I)
  • Alfred Gumikiriza (Hot Pool) 5- 4 Lubulwa Simon (Hot Pool)

Round Of 16:

  • Alfred Gumikiriza  4 – 1 Abdul Ssekito
  • Fahad Ssewankambo  2 – 4 Simon Lubulwa
  • Humphrey Nsubuga  2- 4 Uthman Bukenya
  • Musa Ssekiliba 4 – 1 Fahad Ntambi
  • Sula Matovu 4 – 2 Allan Nsubuga
  • Dan Mubiru 1 – 4 Richard Kalungi
  • Abdul Ganny 2 – 4 William Mirembe
  • Andrew Lukwago 0 – 4 Bob Kateregga


  • Final: Sharon Mirembe 5-4 Angela Busingye
  • Third Place match: Lukia Naiga 4-3 Rashida Mutesi

Semi Finals:

  • Sharon Mirembe 5 – 4 Lukia Naiga
  • Angela Busingye 5 -4 Rashida Mutesi

Quarter Finals:

  • Lukia Naiga 4 – 2 Fauzah Namuganza
  • Sharon Mirembe 4 -1 Zaimat Nabafu
  • Rehema Nanyondo 0 – 4 Angela Busingye
  • Ritah Nimusiima 3 – 4 Rashida Mutesi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here