Nelson Senkatuka Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

2017 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup

  • Early December
  • In Kenya
[/media-credit] Nelson Senkatuka is one of the players expected to play for the Cranes in the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Preparations for the 2017 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup continue to take shape.

This year’s championship will be hosted by Kenya.

The development was confirmed after the convention held by the member associations at the start of October in Khartoum, Sudan.

The Khartoum Executive Meeting followed the initial brain storming meeting by regional federation bosses hosted by the FUFA President Moses Magogo early this year at Mengo.

Key of the resolutions at the Khartoum meeting was the passing of the budget for the 2017 CECAFA Women, U17 and Senior Challenge Cup tournaments.

The same meeting also endorsed Burundi as the U17 hosts and Rwanda the host for CECAFA Women Championship.

The Challenge Cup has not been played since Uganda Cranes triumph at the 2015 tournament played in Ethiopia.

The tournament was not also held in 1986, 1993, 1997, 1998, 2014 and 2016. In 1997 and 1998, the tournament had been suspended.

CECAFA members include Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zanzibar.

Uganda is the record winner with 14 cups.

Successful years Uganda has won the CECAFA Senior Challenge cup tourney:

  • 1973
  • 1976
  • 1977
  • 1989
  • 1990
  • 1992
  • 1996
  • 2000
  • 2003
  • 2008
  • 2009
  • 2011
  • 2012
  • 2015

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think