Fortune Sentamu (55) Maxime (777) and Fatuh Kiggundu (98). Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

6th National Motocross Championship

  • Sunday, 5th November 2017
  • At Garuga MX Track, Entebbe
  • Entry fees: 10,000 (Ordinary) & 20, 000 (VIP)
[/media-credit] Fortune Sentamu (55) Maxime (777) and Fatuh Kiggundu (98). Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Sunday, 5th November 2017 is a sure red letter day for the enthusiastic Motocross die-hards across the country.

On the day, all roads will lead to the newly redesigned Garuga MX track off the shores of Africa’s fresh water body, Lake Victoria.

Different riders will converge to officially bid farewell to the hectic motocross season in the sixth and final circuit of the year.

Apart from the injured national team captain Maxime Van Pee, the rest of the riders will take part.

Fans should anticipate the best out of the riders on the day as revealed by celebrated motorsport specialist Arthur Blick Jr.

[/media-credit] Arthur Blick Jr. and Maxime Van Pee during the press conference at Lugogo on Monday Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Addressing the media at the Federation of Uganda Motorsport (FMU) head offices in Lugogo, Kampala on Monday,  Blick Jr rallied upon all the fans to give the 2017 motocross season a wonderful crowning.

Flanked by the event organizers Nanet Blick and Leila Mayanja, Maxime and other riders as he noted;

The season comes to an end with the 6th and final championship of the year on 5th November 2017 at the re-designed Garuga motocross track.

Fans should turn up in large numbers for the best action that will wind up the season in style.

[/media-credit] L-R: Arthur Blick Junior,  Maxime Van Pee, Nanet Blick and Leila Mayanja during the launch of the 6th MX championship at Lugogo in Kampala on Monday Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Whereas the MX one event is done and dusted with the injured Van Pee just awaiting crowning, there is still stiff competition in the other categories.

Maxime Van Pee ( 277 Points) leads the  MX 1 standings as Asaf Natan and Olivier Van Pee follow suit with 173 and 167 Points respectively.

Fatuh Kiggundu leads the MX 2 class with 265 Points followed by Yassin Kasirye (186 Points) and Ali Kigozi (153 Points).

Any of Pieter Pelser, Barak Orland or Ashi Young could smile home with the overall title as they have 187, 180 and 168 points respectively after round 5 in the MX Vets category.

[/media-credit] Action during the MX Round Four Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Ben Nsumba leads MX 65, William Blick is ahead in MX 50 peewee, Isabella Blick tops MX 5 senior and Malcom Lubega is heads and shoulders above Akena Obote in the MX 65.

In the MX 125 class, Alestair Blick is ahead of another Blick entity – Paddy.

To spice up the day, there will also be the interesting junior category of 4 years and above as well as buggy racing.

MX Standings after 5 Rounds

MX 50 Peewee:

  • William Blick – 280 Points
  • Miguel Katende – 237 Points
  • Ahmed Tamale Jr – 172 Points

MX 50 Senior:

  • Isabella Blick – 274 Points
  • Gift Ssebuguzi – 246 Points
  • Malcom Omoding – 229 Points

MX 65:

  • Malcom Lubega – 232 Points
  • Akena Obote – 226 Points
  • Milton Akaki – 198 Points

MX 85:

  • Ben Nsumba – 225 Points
  • Fortune Ssentamu – 182 Points
  • Wazir Omar – 169 Points

MX 125:

  • Alestair Blick – 283 Points
  • Paddy Blick – 283 Points
  • Yasser Ali Omar – 230 Points

MX 2:

  • Fatuh Kiggundu – 265 Points
  • Yassin Kasirye – 186 Points
  • Ali Kigozi – 153 Points

MX 1:

  • Maxime Van Pee – 277 Points
  • Asaf Natan – 173 Points
  • Olivier Van Pee – 167 Points

MX Vets:

  • Pieter Pelser – 187 Points
  • Barak Orland – 180 Points
  • Ashi Young – 168 Points

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think