MVPs Fazilah Ikwaput and Muzamir Mutyaba Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

2017 Airtel FUFA Awards

Most Valuable Players (MVP)

  • Male: Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA Football Club)
  • Female: Fazilah Ikwaput (Olila High School Women Football Club)
[/media-credit] MVPs Fazilah Ikwaput and Muzamir Mutyaba Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

KCCA creative midfielder Muzamiru Mutyaba and Olila High School forward player Fazilah Ikwaput smiled home with the biggest accolades at the 2017 Airtel FUFA Awards.

Like at most awards ceremonies, many celebrated with the choice of the winners and definitely a fraction cast bold question marks.

Mutyaba edged former club-mate and sharp shooter Geoffrey Sserunkuma, now at Zambia Premier League side Buildcon as well as former SC Villa captain Tadeo Lwanga, now at Vipers Sports Club.

Ikwaput, a forward with Soroti based Women Football Club, Olila High School shockingly outsmarted FUFA Women Elite League top scorer Hasifa Nassuuna and Olila goalie Vaneesa Kalungi.

Smartly dress guests and nominees arrived at the main hall of Speke Resort Munyonyo as early as 6:00p.m to book their seats.

Dinner happened starting at 7 p.m until when the first award was given out to Dennis Onyango (best fans footballer based outside Uganda).

“I am honoured to win. Thank you the organizers and the fans who voted for me,” Onyango stated in a brief speech on the podium once granted the opportunity by the MC of the night Andrew Kabuura.

FUFA Second Vice President Darius Mugoye handed Emmanuel Okwi the second award on the night – fans’ favourite player based in Uganda.

Okwi had a stellar season with SC Villa Jogoo, scoring crucial goals that inspired his side to second place.

“I dedicate this award to the players of SC Villa and the fans,” he acknowledged.

Nasser Lwamunda received the best Beach Soccer Player of the Year award, Kenneddy Kasadha the young referee and KCCA F.C the fair play team of the season (got the least yellow and red cards).

Mike Mutebi was then rewarded as best coach alongside the coach to the select side of the finest players in the season past.

This team had Isma Watenga (Vipers), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Vipers), John Adriko (SC Villa Jogoo), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Rashid Toha (Onduparaka), Tadeo Lwanga (SC Villa/Vipers), Gadafi Gadihno (Onduparaka), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA), Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA), Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa Jogoo/ Simba,Tz) and Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka/KCCA).

Each of the 11 players named earned Shs1M cash as well Mutebi, the gaffer.

Mutebi then sighed with relief and confidence in a speech;

It’s a pleasure to see football people in such an environment. Football belongs to people who are organized, where there is fairness, order and discipline.

People appreciate that football belongs to the elite.

I dedicate the award to FUFA for appreciating footballers.

CHAN 2018 bound referee Brian Miiro Nsubuga was named best referee  and Muhammod ‘Blatter’ Kalema got a standing ovation when he received the FUFA Presidential award from Moses Magogo, the FA boss.

The biggest moment was definitely reserved for the final moment.

First, Ikwaput was named best MVP (female) and moments later, Mutyaba gallantly walked to the podium when his name was called as the best male player of the season.

There were divided opinions on the choice of the MVP’s from the gallery and many sections of the public questioning the winners.

For starters, both Mutyaba and Sserunkuma were part of the KCCA side that won the first ever domestic double (Uganda Premier League and Uganda Cup) and the good performance on the continent.

The small details mattered less for the organizers whose mode of SMS texts was considered.

Sserunkuma, 33, had finished the season with 32 goals (21 as league top scorer, 6 in the cup, 4 in the CAF Confederation Cup and one in the CAF Champions league).

He was also part of the Uganda Cranes team that played at the AFCON in Gabon and scored Uganda Cranes’ away goal to Cape Verde in the current AFCON 2019 qualifiers.

Mutyaba, though, had a hand in many of Sserunkuma’s goals.

He also managed a personal 8 goals to his name and 2 in the cup. Humbled by the accolade that came with a brand Toyota Alteeza car, Mutyaba attested

I thank  Allah for life and this gift of talent. I also thank the management of KCCA F.C, technical team, fellow players and the fans who voted for me. Good night

Ikwaput won the FUFA Women Cup with Olila High School as Nassuna was top scorer (26 goals) in the FUFA Women Elite League, guiding Kawempe Muslim to third league crown in succession.

“I am so surprised for this award” Ikwaput confessed. “I thank everyone who voted and thank Airtel and FUFA for organizing. I also thank the other sponsors,” she added.

Unlike the previous editions, all the nominees that made the final short list pocketed varying proportions of cash.

Last year, Shaban Muhammad and Nassuna won the male and female respective accolades.

In 2015, Faruku Miya and Sandra Nabweteeme were the MVP’s.

For the third year running, the awards were being fueled by Airtel Uganda Limited as the main sponsor.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply