Kawowo Sports bagged the best sports website award Credit: Courtesy

Kawowo Sports won the award for Sports Website of year at the Sports Journalists Choice Awards held last evening at Gekko Terrace.

[/media-credit] SJCA Kawowo Sports Accolade Credit: Courtesy

The awards in their second year are organised by Third Half Sports Management under the leadership of Leon Ssenyange and their main aim is to reward and recognize individuals and organisations that have been exceptional and influential in sports journalism.

Kawowo was nominated in the website of the Year category taking the award ahead of Nim Sports and Sport 256.

[/media-credit] Kawowo Sports’ Joseph Owino (R), Denis Musali (2nd from left) and Sharifa Namagoba (2nd from right) picking the award Credit: Courtesy

The award came with a trophy, certificate plus cash of 200,000 from the sponsors Post Bank. Our own John Batanude won the best sports photographer of the Year another one for the Kawowo team.

The biggest winner of the night was Allan Darren Kyeyune who took 3 accolades that included the young journalist of the year award, social media journalist of the year award and the big one for the Sports journalist of the year.

Full list of winners

Sports Journalist of The Year

Winner: Allan Darren Kyeyune

Regional Sports Journalist of the Year

Winner: Javier Omaball (Mbale)

Sports Feature of The Year

Winner: Moses Alsaid Lubega (NBS)

Sports News Broadcast of the Year

Winner: Daniel Web Ssebakijje (NBS)

Sports Social Media Journalist of the Year

Winner: Darren Allan Kyeyune (NBS/Monitor)

Sports Photographer of the Year

Winner: John Batanudde (Kawowo)

Breakthrough Journalist of the Year

Winner: Brian Kawalya

Young Sports Journalist of the Year

Winner: Allan Darren Kyeyune

Sports Website of the Year

Winner: Kawowo Sports

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply