Cricket Cranes Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE
[/media-credit] Arthur Kyobe Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

Left hand opening batsman Arthur Kyobe has been omitted from Cricket Cranes 17 man squad that was selected for the tour of Qatar and India.

In a surprise move by the selectors the batsman was the biggest casualty from the poor Division 3 tournament in Kampala, with wicket keeper Lawrence Ssematimba also missing out on the final 17 man team. Arnold Otwani also misses out due to unclear reasons with Jonathan Ssebanja also missing out.

Team Captain Davis Karashani made himself unavailable for selection due to a tight work and studies schedule and the team will be led by Roger Mukasa.

UK based Lloyd Paternnot has been selected to feature for Uganda for the 1st time. He missed out on the Division 3 tournament in Kampala due to a delay in having his documents being sorted out by immigration. He will be meeting his new teammates in Qatar and this will give the coaches a chance to have a look at him for the 1st time. His inclusion is a sign that the selectors are looking at sorting out the teams batting woes.

The team has 4 U19 players who are making the step up from the junior side, U19 Captain Kenneth Waiswa and his opening bowling partner Trevor Bukenya will compete for the team ball place in the starting XI. Fred Achellam has been trusted with the keeping gloves at the expense of Lawrence Ssematimba. Explosive Zephaniah Katungi also in the side.

The dropping of Kyobe is a surprise as he was the highest scoring local batsman in the league and has been in form at the ongoing T20 league.

Veteran Frank Nsubuga keeps his place in the side and with be the spinning option with Henry Ssenyondo, Brian Masaba and Irfan Afridi.

The team will tour Qatar and India from February 6-20. They will use the tour as a preparation for the Division 4 tournament in Malaysia come April.

Full Team 

1. Roger Mukasa

2. Ham Bagenda Kayondo

3. Zephaniah Katungi

4. Simon Ssesazi

5. Lloyd Paternnot

6. Deus Muhumuza

7. Franco Nsubuga

8. Brian Masaba

9. Kenneth Waiswa

10. Charles Waiswa

11. Bilal Hassan

12. Trevor Bukenya

13. Irfan Afridi

14. Fred Achellam

15. Raizat Khan

16. Shahzad Kamal

17.  Henry Ssenyondo.

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think