Derrick Nsibambi Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
  • Kirinya-Jinja S.S 0-1 Kampala Capital City Authority

Reigning league champions, Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) Football club worked out for a hard earned 1-0 victory on the road to Kirinya-Jinja S.S at the Kyabazinga stadium in Jinja on Friday.

[/media-credit] Derrick Nsibambi Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Striker Derrick Nsibambi, fresh from Uganda Cranes duty against Sao Tome & Principe and Malawi, headed home the match winner, the lone strike on the day with less than five minutes left on the clock.

Nsibambi was well positioned to head past Kirinya-Jinja S.S’ goalkeeper Emmanuel Rubangkene off a telling delivery from right back Filbert Obenchan for his fifth league goal.

The champions missed three of their inspirational teenage players in Allan Okello, Mustapha Kizza and Julius Poloto.

The trio are with the national U-20 team ahead of the AFCON U-20 qualifier with South Sudan this Saturday at Lugogo.

Kirinya-Jinja S.S would have taken the lead on 11 minutes but midfielder Mark Bamukyaaye tapped high of goal off a Bashir Mutanda telling ball.

Goalkeeper Charles Lukwago stood out like he has done on most occasions this season with pin point saves especially in the 32nd and 78th minutes.

This was his 10th league clean sheet in 14 outings.

KCCA’s right back Denis Okot Oola and left back Hassan Musana were the only two booked players by referee Rajab Bakasembe in the game during the 43rd and 90th minutes respectively.

KCCA closed gap on leaders, Sports Club Villa Jogoo who command the 16 league table standings with 41 points, four ahead of the 12 league winners.

SC Villa Jogoo has however played two games more than KCCA.

Next Matches:

KCCA will take on Mbarara City on Tuesday 3rd April against Mbarara City at Startimes Stadium, Lugogo and at the same time, Kirinya-Jinja S.S will once again host at their Bugembe fortress, against struggling Express.

Team Line ups:


Charles Lukwago (GK), Timothy Dennis Awany (Captain), Denis Okot Oola, Habibu Kavuma, Isaac Kirabira, Paul Mucureezi, Paul Musamali (Hassan Musana), Muzamiru Mutyaba, Solomon Okwalinga (Fillbert Obenchan),Patrick  Kaddu, Derrick Nsibambi

Kirinya Jinja SS XI:

Emmanuel Lubangakene (GK), Allan Drajua, Isma Kawawulo, Willey Macro, Livingstone ‘C4’ Mulondo, Godfrey Akol (Captain), Mark Bamukyaye,  Bashir Mutanda, Musa Esenu, George Kasonko, Joel Madondo

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think