2018 Girls Cricket Week Finals Match Summary

Jinja SS 129/7 in 20 Overs beat Lights SS 43/9 in 20 Overs by 86 runs

Batting Jinja SS: Immaculate Nakisuyi 38(19), Janet Nakilanda 30(39), Stephanie Nampiina 27(26)
Bowling Light: Kevin Awuro 2/27 in 4 Overs, Christine Anayo 2/30 in 4 Overs
Batting Light: Alungat Rita 16(51)
Bowling Jinja SS: Stephanie Nampiina 2/8 in 4 Overs

The Best 14 players from The Girls Schools Cricket To Represnt Uganda at the Kwibuka Tournament in Rwanda

Jinja SSS won a record seventh Girls Cricket Week title after they defeated Light SSS from Soroti by 86 runs in a one sided final.

The weather affected most of the tournament denying girls a chance to compete in some games but sometimes being a champion means you also have the biggest luck.

Jinja SSS was able to avoid bad weather and they faced their biggest challenge in the semis when they met with Masaka SSS rather than in the final where they met little known Light SSS.

The school from Soroti only made it to the finals in Kampala via a playoff and they shocked all by making it to the final. They defeated four-time winners of Girls Cricket Week Gayaza High School in the semis to met the record winners Jinja SSS in the final.

Jinja SSS made light work of the newcomers with national team all rounder Stephanie Nampiina turning in a woman of the match performance helping her side win by 86 runs.

Jinja SSS now have won the trophy on seven different occasions and have now won it three years in  row since 2016. Jinja SSS hold both the boys and girls titles and Coach Habib Mugalula is still thirsty for success.

Light SSS not only went home with the runner up trophy but also two individual accolades. The performance of the ladies from Soroti is down to the great work put in the Soroti Cricket Academy.

Light SSS has followed up the performance of Olila High School who managed to reach the semis last year.

The best 14 girls from this tournament will travel to Rwanda and represent Uganda in the Kwibuka Peace Tournament.

Individual Accolade Winners

Player of Series – Rita Musamali (Jinja SS)

Best Batsman – Immaculate Nakisuyi (Jinja SS)

Best Bowler – Awuro Kevin (Light SS)

Best Fielder – Christine Arinaitwe (Kilembe SS)

Best Wicket Keeper – Sandra Achawo (Light SS)

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think